GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,929 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
15 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: FM and Ammo? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Luminati
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Having fun trying to figure out this game. One question (probably the first of many):

I don't understand the relationship between Fire Missions and Ammo.

I'm facing some enemy mortars. If I'm doing this right, they use their first of two fire missions when I evaluate them as a potential contact and also expend a single piece of ammo that impacts an entire card, regardless of the number of units on that card.

On the next turn they successfully drew for another FM (grrr) and again use a single piece of ammo (the target card has two units under two separate cover markers this time).

Now their out of fire missions so I flip them over, but I can't see a circumstance where I'd use the rest of the Ammo. What am I missing? The only thing I could think of was that perhaps I'm supposed to use one ammo for every unit/covermarker attacked on the target card, but I wasn't sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Ng
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
First up, its a great game so stick with it. To your actually question: I’m not actually sure of the game situation you’re describing, but I’ll have a guess.

jluminati wrote:
Having fun trying to figure out this game. One question (probably the first of many):

I don't understand the relationship between Fire Missions and Ammo.

You are talking about enemy fire missions, correct? You’ve come up with either an ‘Incoming Artillery’ or ‘Incoming Mortar’ on the mission’s Potential Contact table and you’ve referenced the relevant Spotter Information table on that same mission to find that it has two Fire Missions. If I’m right so far, then the confusion you have is why only two Fire Missions for this mortar when the enemy Ammo table for the same mission says a Mortar team has 6 ammo.

This is easily resolved. The Ammo table applies to on-board mortar teams that are placed as a result of the PC resolution. If you get ‘Incoming Mortars’ on the Potential Contact table then you have received off-board indirect fire support, and you use the Spotter Information table (this is the two fire missions you’ve mentioned) and not the Ammo table.

Quote:
I'm facing some enemy mortars. If I'm doing this right, they use their first of two fire missions when I evaluate them as a potential contact and also expend a single piece of ammo that impacts an entire card, regardless of the number of units on that card.

On the next turn they successfully drew for another FM (grrr) and again use a single piece of ammo (the target card has two units under two separate cover markers this time).

Now their out of fire missions so I flip them over, but I can't see a circumstance where I'd use the rest of the Ammo.


This is correct. The mortar fire (regardless of whether it’s on- or off-board) is applied to the whole card. Each incidence uses one fire mission for off-board (or one ammo for on-board). You only use one fire mission per request for fire (assuming it succeeds). But you are not using ammo, because that is reserved for on-board mortars only.

Think of Fire Missions as allocated effort from off-board artillery by higher headquarters. They have plenty of ammo, but only so much time to give to your sector of the operation, even if your company is the main effort.

If this isn’t what you mean, then I have no idea :-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Luminati
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the info! Makes sense. I was referring to enemy off-board incoming mortar called in by an FO with 2 fire missions and was obviously conflating that with the mortar team/on-board rules with ammo.

Just managed to spot that FO so I'm bringing up my LMG. He's already out of FM's so I guess not much of a threat, but it will feel good to get some vengeance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Ng
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Yup. Been there myself. Revenge is so sweet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Martyn
United States
Guilford
VT
flag msg tools
EXCELSIOR!!!
badge
ZOMGALOMES!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As much as I hate to get in the way of an anti-Nazi vengeance scheme, as per rule 9.8, "Remove Good Order spotters from play when they have expended all their available Fire Missions." Unless you already managed to hit him with something and reduce him to a LAT, that guy is already sneaking back into the bocage....
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Johansson
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
the pete wrote:
As much as I hate to get in the way of an anti-Nazi vengeance scheme, as per rule 9.8, "Remove Good Order spotters from play when they have expended all their available Fire Missions." Unless you already managed to hit him with something and reduce him to a LAT, that guy is already sneaking back into the bocage....

Yup... I´m sorry but Pete is right. The FO team sneaks away, out of play.
I got this wrong during my first game and just turned the FO team over to its fire team side. It then managed to put up a stiff resistance chewing up one of my platoon leaders before I got him.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Luminati
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification. Guess it's better to just get on with it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.