GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,232 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Conan» Forums » Rules

Subject: What does protected do? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Bua
United States
Flushing
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The skill Protected is unclear to me. What does it do? Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bård Holst
Norway
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jbua wrote:
The skill Protected is unclear to me. What does it do? Thanks.


A character with protected can only be targeted with area attacks if that character has another friendly unit in his area.

Also, see this link:
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1656502/protected-skill-exp...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Bua
United States
Flushing
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok I didn’t get that from the rules. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thorfinn Skullsplitter
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The wording on this one is odd, and I think it might be a victim of translation and editing oversight. The way it reads is that the character can ONLY be attacked with area attacks, and then only if it has a friendly model WITHOUT Protected in the same area.

So, the wording implies that this character is basically unattackable, except as collateral damage in an area attack.

But what then happens if that character is alone in an area? Surrounded by enemy models? The only 'friendly' model on the board?

I think the spirit of the ability is that when the model is in an area with friendly models you have to attack the other models instead, but that it can still take area effect damage. Basically, it's hiding behind its buddies. But it would still be a valid target if it was alone.

I think if they wanted the character to be so utterly untargetable, then a better name for the ability would have been 'Invisible'.

Sadly, the clarifications, well, they don't clarify...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Zsolt
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct with your assessment as to the “spirit of the ability”. Basically if you have friendly units in your space you cannot be attacked with a melee attack unless that other character also has protected, however an area attack will still do you damage. Wording is rather ambiguous.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.