GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,778 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The U.S. Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Allocating naval losses rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Kolenda
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
We started playing with the naval rules. I find them fantastic. They make the fight for control of the rivers way more interesting. They also tend to favor the Union (+1 for attacks against certain hexes w/o using a card). IMHO, the Union needs help in this game.

That being said. Rule 21.6.6 says

Each hit sinks a Naval Unit or NSP. The Union Oceangoing
Ironclad Strength Bonus (21.5) may not absorb any hits. The
first hit by the attacker in a Naval Battle must be applied against
a Coastal Fort, Fort or Naval Battery if one is present, all further
hits are distributed as he pleases.

Who is "he" - the person owning the units or the opponent?

If its the person owning the units, I assume only the first hit is allocated against a Coastal Fort, Fort, or Naval Battery? Is this correct?

For example. If the stack contains a CSA River NSP, a Fort, and a Naval Battery, and the Union scores two hits, the CSA player could not allocate one hit against the Fort, and the 2nd hit against the Battery. The 2nd hit would have to be allocated to the CSA River NSP. Is this correct?


If "he" is the opponent, then no issue.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Dauphinais
United States
Chesterfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"He" is clearly the attacker in that sentence.

Beyond the requirement that the first hit be assigned to any defending Coastal Fort, Fort or Naval Battery (if one of the preceding is present), the attacker gets to decide how the hits are allocated to the defending Naval Units.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Kolenda
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.