GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,974 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
24 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Do It Yourself

Subject: Cheapskate cubes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vlad P
Romania
flag msg tools
Hey guys,
I just thought of a cheap way to make cubes: baking polymer clay into silicone molds. You can do all sorts of stuff with different molds.
Is this feasible?
Would fimo/cernit be appropriate to use as game bits? I have no experience with them.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
maf man
United States
endeavor
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
with any project its just a question of cost.
Can you take the clay and form it in that mold reliably and effectively?
My guess is that the clay would be too stiff to be easy to hand work them in. At least the cheap clay that I've gotten before would be, maybe there is a better choice out there. You have to get the clay in there with next to no air pockets throwing off your shape you also have to put the same amount of clay in each cavity and not push out the flexible side walls and get the height the same on each.

So I see time and uniformity being the main cost. It might work well enough depending on the use though. I could imagine this making great looking upgraded pieces for Imhotep and I'm sure other games.
The clay product itself works well as long as your geometry is sturdy and you don't overcook.

But if I were looking for a more effective way to make my own cubes I would probably just get a square dowel rod, cut with whatever cheap saw setup I could get and have a stop to get a uniform size and spray paint.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mrs. "I pity the fool" T
United States
Jefferson County (close enough)
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
https://www.enasco.com/p/Rainbow-Cubes%2BTB15524?searchText=...

1000 plastic Cubes in 6 colors $17.95
 Thumb up
 tip