GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,578 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Argothair _Bialyvich
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
Let's say Germany is invading Denmark early in the game with a single military action, a single army and no air support, so Germany rolls two dice. Denmark has no pieces on the map, but still rolls a single die for its 'notional' self-defense militia.

Suppose Denmark rolls a "4".

Germany would ideally like to roll a 5 or a 6, so it can conquer Denmark. Failing that, the next best roll is a 3, because a 3 results in a harmless retreat. A 3 is better than a 4, because a 4 causes a stalemate, which costs each side one army with no possibility of retreat -- but Denmark doesn't have an army to lose, so the stalemate is just 100% pure downside for Germany. Even rolling a 1 is no worse than rolling a 4, because Germany can't suffer a Disaster Stability Check since Denmark didn't have a land unit in the land battle.

True? It's not too too crazy, but it is a bit weird that sometimes you wind up wishing that you'd rolled a lower number in combat.

Also, let's imagine the same scenario, only Germany is at Mobilization, so it gets two military actions for its offensive. On the first action, Denmark rolls a 4, and Germany rolls a 3, and takes the retreat back to the Ruhr to avoid a loss. Can Germany spend the second action to try again and invade Denmark a second time with the same army on the same chit? I know armies can be used in multiple attacks per chit, but I wasn't clear on whether you're allowed to target the same prey that you just finished retreated from.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bernatz
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have rules in front of me, but I want to say a tie would be one loss each, but Germany could conquer Denmark IF they had brought in two steps ....

So in your example, you are correct ... but it is not always that a tie is bad in those situations.

Also, a 1 or 2 would be worse than a 3, since Germany could not retreat to avoid the loss.

-K
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The important lesson here is, don't attack even an unoccupied country with just infantry and no air support.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Argothair wrote:
let's imagine the same scenario, only Germany is at Mobilization, so it gets two military actions for its offensive. On the first action, Denmark rolls a 4, and Germany rolls a 3, and takes the retreat back to the Ruhr to avoid a loss. Can Germany spend the second action to try again and invade Denmark a second time with the same army on the same chit?


Yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Ruzzo
United States
Manchester
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sdiberar wrote:
The important lesson here is, don't attack even an unoccupied country with just infantry and no air support.


Or, don't attack with only 1 army

However, my interpretation of these results is this:

Success for attacker: Obvious, your army was easily able to overrun the smaller defensive force.

Tie: It was tough, but it looked like victory was in your grasp. So your commanders on the ground did not suggest a retreat. They kept grinding away, but continued to make little progress (Stalingrad, anyone?). The stalwart defenders held long enough that your army was significantly depleted and disorganized by the attack. No way to represent this other than eliminating the army step. If you'd had a larger force (second army or tank army) then you would have been able to finally overrun the exhausted defenders in the end.

1 Loss to attacker - The generals on the ground can see this is going to be a harder fight than expected, and offer the option of aborting the attack before too many resources are used up. Of course, if you have numerical superiority (2 armies or 1 tank army minimum), you might choose to push forward anyway, and suffer the attrition that taking the country is going to cost you.

So yes, tie can be worse than a loss, but sometimes it's not clear at the start of a battle which it will be. If every attacking general always foresaw that outcome and had the option to abort at the start, history would be very different
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.