GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,334 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Medieval» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luca Allaria
United States
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello.
I played the game yesterday with three friends, and some questions about the rules came out

1) 3.1 "When the last Mongol Card is played, the game ends immediately, and the winner is determined."
That means that the game ends before the last Mongol Card attacks or after the attack?

2) Knights of Christ Provinces are or are not subject to Heresy?
9.2.5 states no, but 10.5.1 states yes.

3) If the Mongols fail the attack, the Map Area survives.
It can be chosen again as target for the next Mongol Cards?

4) If a Power Card not in play has all its Provinces under Mongol Tiles. what happens? It's set aside from the deck and players hand (so the player has to discard it)?

5) 7.2 Easternmost edge of the map.
If The Bulgars (3 defense), North Georgia (1 defense), South Georgia (4 defense) and Russia (3 defense) are destroyed by the Mongols, is the Map Area with Livonia and Lithuania (4 defense) considered on the easternmost edge of the map?

Thank you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Shelton
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
dugrim wrote:

1) 3.1 "When the last Mongol Card is played, the game ends immediately, and the winner is determined."
That means that the game ends before the last Mongol Card attacks or after the attack?
The third sentence of 7.2 says "This attack is resolved immediately when the card is played.", so after the Mongol attack.

dugrim wrote:

2) Knights of Christ Provinces are or are not subject to Heresy?
9.2.5 states no, but 10.5.1 states yes.
Both are correct. 9.2.5 states that a Knights of Christ Province is not subject to Heresy, which means you cannot play Heresy on the Province while controlled by the Knights of Christ. 10.5.1 is correct because there could already be a Heresy marker in the Province when the Knights of Christ gain control. It doesn't happen often and we should probably make it easier by having the Knights stomp out the Heresy when they take over. I'll talk it over with the guys and we'll consider that change.

dugrim wrote:

3) If the Mongols fail the attack, the Map Area survives.
It can be chosen again as target for the next Mongol Cards?
The rule in 7.2 is "The player must use them to attack any one Map Area of their choice that is not covered by a Map Tile or a Mongol Tile, on the easternmost edge of the map." no mention of not being able to attack a map area again and again is made, therefore you can!
The Mongols are persistent. A Map Area can be attacked up to seven times in a game, if the Mongols are really unlucky.

dugrim wrote:

4) If a Power Card not in play has all its Provinces under Mongol Tiles. what happens? It's set aside from the deck and players hand (so the player has to discard it)?
Per 5.2.4 "A Power Card may never be discarded unless all its Provinces are covered by Mongol tiles; it must be played or kept in a player’s hand." Once all of a Powers Provinces are covered by Mongol Tiles, it becomes eligible to discard.

dugrim wrote:

5) 7.2 Easternmost edge of the map.
If The Bulgars (3 defense), North Georgia (1 defense), South Georgia (4 defense) and Russia (3 defense) are destroyed by the Mongols, is the Map Area with Livonia and Lithuania (4 defense) considered on the easternmost edge of the map?
Yes. As is the Map Area with the Cumans, the Anatolian Peninsula, and eastern Mediterranean. See the example in 7.2.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Allaria
United States
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.