Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Space Base» Forums » Rules

Subject: First starting card replaced on setup: deployed or not? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan West
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
YouTube tells me when you replace one starting card as part of setup it is placed under the board so it is completely hidden hence you don’t get its deploy reward.

However the rule book in setup refers to page 11 (should be 12!) where the card replaced is deployed under the board but with deploy rewards showing.

Which is correct please?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You deploy the card at the start of the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Clair
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
The deployed (red) reward should be showing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gene Chiu
Canada
Vancouver
B.C.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is deployed. Think of this part of the setup as a forced buy.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan West
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for these replies. Makes total sense. It’s amazing how many YouTube how tos or play throughs are so mistake riddled!!! (Not just this game!)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gene Chiu
Canada
Vancouver
B.C.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jonathan9461 wrote:
Thanks for these replies. Makes total sense. It’s amazing how many YouTube how tos or play throughs are so mistake riddled!!! (Not just this game!)


That's one of the reasons I like to learn a game by reading the rulebook (and any official FAQs). Second hand sources may not be entirely reliable in my experience.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan West
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes I agree. In this case the channel showing the incorrect placement is usually reliable on the rules!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randolph Williams
United States
Ypsilanti
MI
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Out of curiosity, which youtube video shows the incorrect setup?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Al Miller
United States
Easton
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To be fair, one of the many typos in the rule book states that the card the forced draw card replaces is to be placed under the board so it is "No deployed." Could be "Not". Could be "Now."
6 
 Thumb up
1.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sylvain Lalongé
Canada
Boucherville
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
DeadMeat1240 wrote:
To be fair, one of the many typos in the rule book states that the card the forced draw card replaces is to be placed under the board so it is "No deployed." Could be "Not". Could be "Now."


Page 10 of the rulebook available online is pretty clear:

DETERMINE STARTING PLAYER
Make sure each player’s start at 5. Then each player should do the following:
• Draw one random card from the level 1 deck.
• Lose equal to the card’s cost, shown in the top left corner.
• Place the card in its respective sector on your board according to the number listed in the upper right corner of the card. Take the card currently in that sector, turn it upside down and “deploy” it in the same sector...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Al Miller
United States
Easton
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aranas wrote:
DeadMeat1240 wrote:
To be fair, one of the many typos in the rule book states that the card the forced draw card replaces is to be placed under the board so it is "No deployed." Could be "Not". Could be "Now."


Page 10 of the rulebook available online is pretty clear:

DETERMINE STARTING PLAYER
Make sure each player’s start at 5. Then each player should do the following:
• Draw one random card from the level 1 deck.
• Lose equal to the card’s cost, shown in the top left corner.
• Place the card in its respective sector on your board according to the number listed in the upper right corner of the card. Take the card currently in that sector, turn it upside down and “deploy” it in the same sector...

That's no excuse for a sloppy rule book in the box.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.