Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Spirit Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Choice event - Sacred Sites under Threat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
tombonator
United States
charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Name: Sacred Sites under Threat
Description: Invaders have begun to find hidden places of natural power. You may:
Choice 1: Let the Island's Strength Repulse Them
• Each Sacred Site Pushes 1 Explorer / Town to an adjacent land.
• Remove 1 Blight per player from the Blight Card, returning it to the box.

Choice 2: Guard them Yourself, for Well or Ill
Cost: 3 Energy per land where you do damage. Aided by Fire.
• In each land with Sacred Site and Invaders: Either do 2 Damage. -or- Destroy 1 Presence from each Spirit.

Looked for a previous answer, didn't find a conclusive one on choice events. What do you do when it's not possible to do either choice, such as in this card event. Where there wasn't any invaders on any sacred sites. I'm guessing the only thing possible was option b in choice 1, removing 1 blight per player. Is that the correct? Or could we do choice 2 Just destroying 1 Presence from each spirit? And would that still be valid if we didn't have the energy/aided elements?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bredon
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
tombonator wrote:
Name: Sacred Sites under Threat
Description: Invaders have begun to find hidden places of natural power. You may:
Choice 1: Let the Island's Strength Repulse Them
• Each Sacred Site Pushes 1 Explorer / Town to an adjacent land.
• Remove 1 Blight per player from the Blight Card, returning it to the box.

Choice 2: Guard them Yourself, for Well or Ill
Cost: 3 Energy per land where you do damage. Aided by Fire.
• In each land with Sacred Site and Invaders: Either do 2 Damage. -or- Destroy 1 Presence from each Spirit.

Looked for a previous answer, didn't find a conclusive one on choice events. What do you do when it's not possible to do either choice, such as in this card event. Where there wasn't any invaders on any sacred sites. I'm guessing the only thing possible was option b in choice 1, removing 1 blight per player. Is that the correct? Or could we do choice 2 Just destroying 1 Presence from each spirit? And would that still be valid if we didn't have the energy/aided elements?


In this situation, you can and should choose Choice 2. Since there are 0 lands with Sacred Sites and Invaders, you have 0 lands to make a choice on, so you don't destroy any presence, and don't pay any energy.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Reeser
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
tombonator wrote:
Name: Sacred Sites under Threat
Description: Invaders have begun to find hidden places of natural power. You may:
Choice 1: Let the Island's Strength Repulse Them
• Each Sacred Site Pushes 1 Explorer / Town to an adjacent land.
• Remove 1 Blight per player from the Blight Card, returning it to the box.

Choice 2: Guard them Yourself, for Well or Ill
Cost: 3 Energy per land where you do damage. Aided by Fire.
• In each land with Sacred Site and Invaders: Either do 2 Damage. -or- Destroy 1 Presence from each Spirit.

Looked for a previous answer, didn't find a conclusive one on choice events. What do you do when it's not possible to do either choice, such as in this card event. Where there wasn't any invaders on any sacred sites. I'm guessing the only thing possible was option b in choice 1, removing 1 blight per player. Is that the correct? Or could we do choice 2 Just destroying 1 Presence from each spirit? And would that still be valid if we didn't have the energy/aided elements?


I could be wrong, but I think that every choice event is set up so that at least one of the options is available to the players; this one is no exception. The thing to remember, however, is that you have to do as much as you can within each option.

If you pick choice #1, each Sacred Site pushes one Explorer or Town from its land. Note that each Sacred Site that shares a space with any Explorers or Towns must push one of those Explorers or Towns. However, if there's a Sacred Site that doesn't have any Explorers or Towns in its land, nothing happens in that land. And if there aren't any Sacred Sites that share a land with any Explorers or Towns (or if there aren't any Sacred Sites at all), then nothing happens in this part of choice #1. You then move on to the second part: remove 1 Blight per player from the Blight Card and put them* back in the box. Note that if this causes the last Blight to be removed, this flips the card from Healthy Island to Blighted Island (or triggers a game loss, if the island is already Blighted or if you're not using an Island Card).

If you pick choice #2, you make a series of further choices. In every land that contains both Invaders and a Sacred Site, you can pay 3 Energy (aided by the Fire element) to do 2 damage to said Invaders; this can be 2 damage to a single Invader, or 1 damage apiece to two different Invaders. If you can't (or don't want to) pay that energy, you instead destroy a presence from each Spirit in that land; the Invaders take no damage in this case (although they can still be damaged from other effects, such as Dahan counterattacking during a Ravage). And if you don't have any Sacred Sites that share a land with Invaders, this choice ultimately does nothing (just like the first part of choice #1).

Aaron is correct; you should go with option #2 in this case, as it won't cost you anything in terms of energy or presence. (Option #1, on the other hand, will always remove Blight Tokens from your supply, which is bad.)


*The Blight tokens, not the players
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Maloney
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
"If trees could scream, would we be so cavalier about cutting them down? We might, if they screamed all the time, for no good reason." -Jack Handey
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since the previous post seems to be aiming for a comprehensive view at the card, I offer one clarification:

Under option two, you decide how many sites will do damage and pay for them all at once (3 energy per site, aided by fire). This is relevant because paying for them one at a time would waste energy gained by forgetting cards due to overpaying.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tombonator
United States
charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification guys, seems like targeting from event cards aren't as strict as they are with power cards. I assumed you couldn't elect certain events if certain conditions were not met, but that appears to not be the case with these.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Thurston
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tombonator wrote:
Thanks for the clarification guys, seems like targeting from event cards aren't as strict as they are with power cards. I assumed you couldn't elect certain events if certain conditions were not met, but that appears to not be the case with these.
It's actually very similar to power cards, as in the (base game) rulebook sidebar on p. 17 titled "Do as much as you can": you have to fulfill the targeting restrictions, but once you do, you don't need to do everything.

The layout of the power cards makes it really clear what is a targeting restriction and what's part of the effect, and that distinction is a little less clear on some of the Event cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Reeser
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Dormammu wrote:
Under option two, you decide how many sites will do damage and pay for them all at once (3 energy per site, aided by fire). This is relevant because paying for them one at a time would waste energy gained by forgetting cards due to overpaying.


Ooh, that's a good point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.