Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Skies Above the Reich» Forums » Rules

Subject: Schwarm rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ted Leiker
United States
Friday Harbor
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When attacking with the Schwarm bonus I pull collision checks for the spaces with 2 or more fighters. If I lose any fighters to veering or evading before the burst step do I lose the Schwarm bonus because the 4 planes attacking from one position and one altitude is no longer true?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy (Jerry) White
msg tools
designer
Good question. This is where the procedure is important.

During the Engage step of the Attack Phase, as noted on the bi-fold player aid card (L), you check for advantage after making collision checks. Thus, if you do not qualify for the Schwarm advantage at the end of the Engage step (when checking for advantage), you do not get the Schwarm advantage.

As your four fighters approached, enemy gunners managed to break up your formation.

The Collision Check should be thought of as more than just the very slim chance of one aircraft crashing into another. Merely the pressure of a determined and dense attack can have a deleterious effect on the cohesion of the bomber formation (which is why those Proximity markers linger on the board until the following Cohesion phase). The Collision Check is also the game's way of handling gunnery prior to actually resolving the outcome of the encounter between fighter and bomber.

Every pass the fighters made at the bomber formation was a stressful event for both sides.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Leiker
United States
Friday Harbor
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply. I handled it the way you stated even before seeing the reply so it makes total sense. Congratulations on a great game. It's very compelling and a lot of fun to play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy (Jerry) White
msg tools
designer
Thanks Ted, and thanks for the AAR.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Bennett
United States
Rougemont
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Play. Always.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rules it lists using advantage markers to cancel hits from collision results. Does this mean that’s not correct and we can only use Luck and Sun to avoid collision hits, as we won’t have earned advantages yet?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Gutierrez
United States
Burbank
California
flag msg tools
badge
"A pilot's greatest virtue is to know when to run" -- "What's this, a joke?"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pusherman42 wrote:
In the rules it lists using advantage markers to cancel hits from collision results. Does this mean that’s not correct and we can only use Luck and Sun to avoid collision hits, as we won’t have earned advantages yet?


https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2024451/attack-phase-sequen...
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Leiker
United States
Friday Harbor
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sometimes you get a collision check when you pull an attack card (after you've earned an advantage). At that point you can use an earned advantage to cancel the hit if that happens.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Bennett
United States
Rougemont
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Play. Always.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect sense, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.