Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
28 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Complete newb looking for recommendation for two-player game for my wife and I rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony G
msg tools
So, my wife and I would like to venture into board games and here are some things that might help you provide some recommendations for us. Thanks in advance for all of your help! I've been researching myself, but am completely overwhelmed!

-We think we'd like to start with a cooperative game. Not mandatory, but just our initial thought.

-She loves shows that involve the supernatural (vampires, werewolves, magic at least somewhat) or are very time specific (i.e. Roman Empire, Ancient Egypt, etc.). She also loves Game of Thrones and loved Lost. I'm down with all of these themes as well...but this is what I think will appeal to her and I believe the theme will be an important hook. However, I also realize that I'm completely knew to this style of gaming and could be wrong...maybe the gameplay mechanics are more critical.

-I like the idea of campaign style games/Legacy games...something that tells a story that can hook us and bring us back to the table. But, not sure if that is the same as a "theme" game, which I've also seen mentioned.

-I'd prefer something that could be set up, played and the session completed within an hour. If this is too limiting, I could do 90 minutes maybe...

-I don't want something that we will constantly have to stop the game and look something up online in order to "kind of" make sense of the rules. I don't necessarily want something incredibly basic, but something that is explained well, possibly has layers of complexity that you learn over time, or that has a rule book that is fairly easy to navigate.

-In the end, we want to have fun. Just hoping that some of you fine folk can lead us in the right direction. Thanks again for reading and taking the time to help us out!!!