Subject: Modular Testing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew van Laar
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hey All,

So I was reading a post (See Post Here) about how to go about play testing and balancing a game.

Some of the posters mentioned that they break down the game into the individual components and rules and test them on their own. If they work, they then incorporate them into a full and complete game to test alongside all the different components and rules. The posters refer to this as Modular Testing.

I am new to board game design and would really appreciate if anyone would be able to explain this type of testing further because I just can't grasp how one would test a game in this manner. It seems impossible to me to break up a game and test parts of it outside the whole. If possible, maybe an example of a commonly know game (Monopoly, Risk, Settlers etc) could be used to show how this approach would have been done with that particular game.

I really appreciate any feedback on this and I am sure there might be other new designers (or old ones who don't know much about this!) who could glean a wealth of information. If I am the only one who doesn't understand this method, then I shall sit here in blissful ignorance until I am enlightened by a fellow BGG!

Thanks so much!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Arias
United States
Sanford
FLORIDA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
One designer's approach (can't recall blogger's user name here) was to iteratively develop the game.

e.g. If he decided the game was to have a modular tile map, he would playtest JUST that feature over and over until it "felt" right mechanically and entertainment-wise. Validate that modular tiles was the best approach, and shake out any contingencies that would create weird rules exceptions or other complexity to optionally design out.