Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Tigris & Euphrates» Forums » Rules

Subject: external conflict with less than 6 tiles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Massimiliano della Rovere
Italy
Pisa
Tuscany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
[Scenario]
An external conflict occurs involving three players: A, B and C. The conflict is actually composed of two different wars, one between A and B, one between B and C; resolution of war 1 doesn't neutralize war 2.
It's player A turn.

[Question1]
I have understood that no player can draw new tiles to refill his stock before the conflict is resolved. So B could be in serious troubles facing player C. Is this true?

[Question2]
Can player A (it's his turn) decide the order of the resolution of each conflict *before* having resolved either some (question 2.1) or all (question 2.2) the conflict he is involved into? That is: can he decide that war 2 must be played before war 1 in order to have a better chance to beat player B?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Re:external conflict with less than 6 tiles
masdero (#34601),

[Question1]
That's true. Sucks to be player B.

[Question2]
Yes, he can. The active player chooses the order of conflict of all conflicting colours. He does not need to put his own conflicts first.

In my games, this is commonly called "Let's you and him fight".

Given that his own conflict will involve different coloured tiles than the conflict(s) he yields to, it doesn't directly affect player B's ability to defend against Player A's attack anyways (the tiles B could have used to defend against A's attack can't be spent fighting C anyways). All it really does is reduce A's uncertainty about how many tiles of that colour B might have. It doesn't change B's actual ability to defend one bit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Re:external conflict with less than 6 tiles
masdero wrote:
[Question1]
I have understood that no player can draw new tiles to refill his stock before the conflict is resolved. So B could be in serious troubles facing player C. Is this true?


It is true that B can't refresh his hand before the conflict with C, but he isn't in any more trouble than he would have been anyway. The conflict with A was in a different colour, so any tiles that B has used against A wouldn't have been useful against C.

The only time this would matter is if the seating order is A-C-B. A and B have, say, a green conflict and B uses 4 green tiles. Now C knows that B has at most 2 tiles left and may therefore be able to get a guaranteed win their conflict.

masdero wrote:
[Question2]
can he decide that war 2 must be played before war 1 in order to have a better chance to beat player B?


Yes, although it should be noted that the only reason that A has a better chance of winning is because he knows that B has less tiles in total, not because B's hand has been stripped of useful tiles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Massimiliano della Rovere
Italy
Pisa
Tuscany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:external conflict with less than 6 tiles
Captain_Physics (#34608),
Yes, although it should be noted that the only reason that A has a better chance of winning is because he knows that B has less tiles in total, not because B's hand has been stripped of useful tiles.
the hope is that B's reign could be split if he loses (tiles) with C.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Massimiliano della Rovere
Italy
Pisa
Tuscany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:external conflict with less than 6 tiles
masdero (#34649),
by the way: if B reign is reduced in the confict with C, he has to fight A with the new *smaller* reign, doesn't he?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mb
Re:external conflict with less than 6 tiles
masdero wrote:
masdero (#34649),
by the way: if B reign is reduced in the confict with C, he has to fight A with the new *smaller* reign, doesn't he?


Yes.

-MMM
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.