Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Minerva» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assistants rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jay K
United States
Idaho
flag msg tools
mb
So the concept of Assistants is interesting, as it increases the uses of the Residential buildings, BUT what happens to the assistants in between rounds? Do they refresh or are they a one time use? A one time use seems to make some sense, but it also makes sense to have them refresh between rounds.

I couldn't find anything in the rules pertaining to what happens to assistants, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr H
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
They are one time use. You place them on the residential building and now you cant use anymore assistants on that building. Also, keeping them tracks how many assistants you've purchased... which raises the price of future assistants.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay K
United States
Idaho
flag msg tools
mb
That changes the game a bit. Makes the assistants a little less worthwhile, especially for a cost of 15 later.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Habelitz
Germany
Zweibrücken
Reinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We also had the question if it is possible to gain more than 4 Assistants and if the costs then stay at 15/3
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Amick
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Matthias19281 wrote:
We also had the question if it is possible to gain more than 4 Assistants and if the costs then stay at 15/3


Once you get an Assistant, you keep it for the rest of the game. The maximum number of Assistants you can have is 5. The costs specified in the rules are based on the number of Assistants you already have, so the last entry is the cost for getting a fifth Assistant.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthias Habelitz
Germany
Zweibrücken
Reinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Hsu
United States
Newton
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that you can only hire one assistant per round. Because there are 6 rounds and you don’t hire at the end of the 6th round, that leads to the limit of 5 assistants.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Long
United States
New London
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmb

The game is six rounds.

You have an option to buy ONE assistant, after the action phase of each round.


Matthias19281 wrote:
We also had the question if it is possible to gain more than 4 Assistants and if the costs then stay at 15/3


Yes, you can buy 5.

If you skip buying an assistant in a round, you cannot buy extras later to make up for it.

The costs for an assistant (listed on page 7) are based on how many assistant tokens you already have total, both in play on a building, and in your hand, waiting to be played.


Since buying an assistant happens AFTER the action phase, there is no reason to buy one in round 6, as it would be too late to play it.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aelfric Brewer
msg tools
mbmbmb
jkanta wrote:
So the concept of Assistants is interesting, as it increases the uses of the Residential buildings, BUT what happens to the assistants in between rounds? Do they refresh or are they a one time use? A one time use seems to make some sense, but it also makes sense to have them refresh between rounds.

I couldn't find anything in the rules pertaining to what happens to assistants, though.


you can buy at most one assistant after each round (1-5). you cannot buy an assistant in round 6. playing an assistant is an action, so the assistant you buy in round 1, for example, is not usable until main phase of round 2.

[edit - i had this backwards before] assistants are purchased in the REVERSE order of the order tiles. whomever has order tile 4 buys first, whomever has order tile 3 buys second, etc. thus, whomever passes LAST must make their decision about whether to spend glory to buy an assistant FIRST, and whomever passed FIRST gets to wait and see what glory all other players have left before deciding whether to spend her own glory on an assistant.

because you can use glory to buy an assistant, you may thus have the decision to make of whether to buy one or keep your glory (to complete for the glory victory point tiles). whomever passed first and took the FIRST order tile can easily see how much glory he would need to do both, buy assistant and win on glory, for example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.