Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do dice override villain effects or dark events? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lyn Townsend
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
We have just played game 4 and just wanted to check we are playing it right. We had the basilisk villain out and played a hufflepuff dice. It said all players draw a card. Am I correct in thinking that because of the basilisk no one can a draw a card. Similarly if the da event says cannot draw extra cards then the dice do not override the event. Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Both correct. Also, you may want to look here...

Comprehensive Rule Clarifications & FAQ
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I believe the general rule of thumb is something that says "cannot" takes precedence over something that says you "can".

If a villian or dark arts event says you cannot draw extra cards, then that trumps a card that says you can draw an extra card.

If a villian or dark arts event says you cannot gain health, then that trumps the essence of dittany giving you 2 hearts.

If a card is in effect that says you cannot be forced to draw more than one dark arts event, then that trumps a villian or dark arts event or location that tells you to reveal another dark arts event.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.