The Gigamic/Fundex 2007 English language rules say in the two player rules that “Each player receives 30 Dirhams and 24 rugs of 2 different colors; they should be mixed together in a pile. The rugs are then laid in order from the pile.”
When your opponent lands on a rug of one of your colors, do they pay for the number of adjoining connected squares in THAT color only, or the number of adjoining connected squares in BOTH of your colors?
I'm quite sure the game checks the colors individually and pays out that way. It just happens that one player owns two colors.