Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Sands of Time» Forums » Rules

Subject: Province vs. Colony rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ferdinand Köther
Germany
Bochum
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry to keep on pestering - I'm very picky with rules.

Seems obvious, but not explained in detail:
If you lose a "P" province, and re-conquer it later, it turns to a colony. So you could end up with only one "P" (capital, no marker), and 9 "C" provinces (in theory), right?
Concerns building of victory arches, though there are 8 only in total ...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Warrender
United States
Averill Park
New York
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's right.

There's a weird edge case whereby, if you lost your capital and moved it to a colony, is it possible you would then have only colonies? I think maybe not, a capital is always a province by definition.

Note that provinces and colonies also matter for an advance or two, and of course for the tribute action.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ferdinand Köther
Germany
Bochum
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, as usual
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
François Mahieu
Belgium
Rhode-Saint-Genèse
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As during setup one of your province token has to be replaced with the pawn of your capital, you end up playing the game with only, at best, 2 province tokens on the map. And there’s no way to increase this, right? So basically, you won’t ever have your 3 province tokens on the map during the course of play?

One can only loose province tokens, never place new ones?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ferdinand Köther
Germany
Bochum
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
poifpoif wrote:
As during setup one of your province token has to be replaced with the pawn of your capital, you end up playing the game with only, at best, 2 province tokens on the map. And there’s no way to increase this, right? So basically, you won’t ever have your 3 province tokens on the map during the course of play?

One can only loose province tokens, never place new ones?


That is correct, you can only place new colony tokens, never province tokens. Province tokens are used during setup only, one being replaced by your capital. If you lose those other two provinces, you have only one left, that's the region with your capital (the region with your capital always counts as a province).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.