Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Crane
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am just learning the game and have some questions that probably seem painfully obvious. Nevertheless:

1. After three rounds of combat, can pinned troops retreat?

2. when retreating, is there a one hex movement limit?

3. Do Wizards have to use gold to recover (build) steps spent to cast spells? Does that make the Heroes and Treasures expansion mandatory?

4. What about hexes that contain three terrain types? I’m thinking of a hex that has woods on one side, mountains on the other, and a road running through the middle. For the sake of stacking during combat, which terrain type do I choose?

5. Turtling: my seven year old is playing the undead in the first WK2 scenario. He has four units tucked away in [Bethi?]. If a city has a stacking limit of five, how do I pry him out of there? If he sticks a fifth unit in the city, is the game over at that point?

Thank you.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Ruf
Germany
Schönaich
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
craniac wrote:
1. After three rounds of combat, can pinned troops retreat?

Yes. Pinning only prohibits running away before combat. All units in a battle can retreat as early as the second combat round, regardless of which were pinned before the fight.

Quote:
2. when retreating, is there a one hex movement limit?

Yes, except for fliers, which get their full move if they retreat to a friendly hex.

Quote:
3. Do Wizards have to use gold to recover (build) steps spent to cast spells? Does that make the Heroes and Treasures expansion mandatory?

Yes and no. Even without H&T, you can put your wizards on a "rotary schedule". Send the spent ones to a large city or to a henge and bring in the reserves.

Quote: