Popular Tags: [View All]
Mr Suitcase
Canada
Burlington
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my fourth official Nemo's War session report.

You can see the first three journeys and how they went here: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2028626/captains-log-first-...
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2038473/captains-log-second...
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2053018/captains-log-third-...

My aim is to make these session reports as detailed as possible. Each turn will be called a "week" in the Captain's Log.

This is my 9th time playing through Nemo's War, and I'm steadily improving my play, though certainly exploring everything the game has to offer..

If you have corrections, recommendations or suggestions between parts of a journey, feel free to make them in the comments.

Setup

As we set out to sea, you should know the following:

I started playing using the recommended "Explorer" motive. After my first few plays, I started these session reports, and my first two were the "Science" motive to start. The third was "Anti-Imperialism". For THIS session, I think I'll go with the motive I have the least experience with - "WAR!"

We start with the "Periscope Device" upgrade. To pay for it, I'll dock one of each resource from its maximum position. The 4 random available upgrade cards are "Steam Torpedoes", "Hydro Drive", "Electro-Powered Crew Armor" and "Reinforced Armor".

We will be playing without any expansions (neither Deadly Seas, nor Upgrades).

We will play at the Officer difficulty level, which is the default game difficulty. I'll keep it here, since I started using this level in my last game and didn't do too badly.

We won't be playing with "taking the blows", or any other optional rules.

Scores will be calculated at the end. I might also tally it up at the end of each session break, if I feel like it.

So, can Captain Nemo take the fight to the Imperialist powers by eliminating their naval capabilities? Let's find out!

Captain's Log, Week 1