Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Race the Wind» Forums » Rules

Subject: How a penalty is paid? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Juan del Castillo
Spain
flag msg tools
What exactly does "The penalty is paid in 4 moves, swivelling round by 360 deg." mean? What about for more than one penalty?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Groth
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you incur a penalty then you must do the following at some time to clear the penalty before you complete the race:
1. Declare that you are clearing the penalty. (This isn't a turn in itself, you just say what you are doing as you start the first manuever.)
2. Manuever your boat a full 360 degrees. Note that this does not necesarily mean turning in place. On each turn you must make a leagal move/manuever based on your current direction. From some positions, such as a broad reach, you MUST move prior to turning, so there may be some forward movement during some of the turns you take as you maneuver around the full 360 degrees.

You will find that turning 360 degrees takes at least 4 turns, no matter what position you start from. (Occasionally a wind shift may make it easier or more difficult.)

Penalties are cleared one at a time, so if you manage to get more than one penalty, then you will have to make more than one turn. Each one is independent, and each one is 360 degrees.

By the way, if you are in the middle of a penalty turn you do not have priority of movement over other boats, even if you would normally have priority due to starboard, or leeward position etc., and the penalty turn must not be within the 2 space zone around a turning buoy either. That is part of the reason you have to declare that you are making a penalty turn.

Not sure how clearly any of this is written in the rules, but these are all common rules in sailboat racing.

I have found that it is useful to print out some simple cards with red penalty flags on them. When you incur a penalty you take one of the flag cards, and later when you clear the penalty you dicard that card. This help to keep track of how many penalties each boat has, and whether they have been cleared yet.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
stephen newberg
Canada
ladysmith
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Looking at the most recent ISAF rules booklet (2009-2012), I think you will find that a 360 degree penalty is one dealing with questions of the marks and obstructions. If the penalty is one dealing with meeting of boats not at marks or obstructions, penalties are 720 degrees. This is not new to this rules cycle, as the main thing that has changed for this rules set from the last (2005-2008) is that the two boat lengths zone at marks rule has been extended to three boat lengths for most all considerations.

pax, smn
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Groth
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good point about the 720 degrees in the ISAF rules. I have seen 360 degrees used for all penalties in some races, but I don't expect that these were ISAF sanctioned. (Some of them have been informal mixed class dinghy races in our local inlet, and penalties are pretty rare in that setting anyway!)

For the purpose of this game, the rule is just 360 degrees, which is already harsh enough. 720 degrees would be basically game over.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.