Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Bennett
United States
Grinnell
Iowa
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The other night in a 3-player game, my son won while only building 1 road segment. It was a strategy I never thought would work, but he won 10-8-6. He spent most of the game purchasing development cards. He built one road, 1 settlement, converted 2 settlements to cities, had the largest army (with 8 soldiers) and 3 VP from special development cards.

I'm pretty new to Settlers. Has anyone else ever seen this? Is it doomed to fail the next 99 times he tries it, or is it actually a clever strategy.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Håkan König
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Winning with just 1 road
Verseboy (#35630),

I certainly have never seen it happen, but in basic settlers it's very much a valid strategy. I doubt he'll win 99/100 using this strategy, BUT he'll be almost certain to get the largest army card and a few VP's this way. If he got good numbers on ore and wool then I'd say it's a pretty good strategy.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Sorbello
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Verseboy (#35630),
there are 2 ways of easy wins
one is to build and onother is to upgrade/development in wich the latter has more control (robber/soldiers) and thus gains more during a game. Ofcourse you'll still need your numbers.
If theres a game and If I have a change of building on a 6 and 8 wich are wheat/sheep/ore I would most definatly take it!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bennett
United States
Grinnell
Iowa
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the opinions. I'm anxious to play again with him and see if he tries it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bennett
United States
Grinnell
Iowa
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb