De Bellis Antiquitatis» Forums » Reviews

Subject: DBA Review From Someone New to Miniatures rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Embark
Japan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my first review here on the geek so please be gentle.

I will start off by saying that I am pretty new to the miniatures hobby. I have managed to collect a little bit of most of the latest and greatest fantasy lines (things like Confrontation, WarMachine, Warhammer Fantasy) but never really got further than painting up a few of them before the costs involved in building and army set in and the realization that I didn't have a solid opponent made me lose interest.

I recently moved back to the Ohio area and was talking with some of the local hobby store owners. I seen that one store in particular carried some 15mm historical miniatures. The owner said that there was a group of guys who played DBA at least once a month at the store. One thing led to another and after a post on The Miniatures Page, Mike Porter contacted me.

I had always been interested in Historical Miniatures. I come from a boardgame wargaming background and the fantasy stuff I had been looking at was visually appealing but the groups that played fantasy were typically a younger crowd and no one I ever talked to had any interest in history.

After talking with Mike off and on, this last Sunday I managed to get in a few games. With that said, I am going to cover the initial impression from a complete newbie to the genre.

The first thing I noticed about DBA was the fact that it required you to purchase your own miniatures and bases seperately. This is a bit different than most of the fantasy games that are out there. However, I understand that this is obviously a much more niche market and luckily there are many manufacturers that have DBA box sets available for purchase. I picked up an Essex Alexander Macedonian set at the Gamers Haven in Cleveland.