Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
50 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Monster Lands» Forums » Rules

Subject: Inofficial FAQ so far rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Torn
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Q/A with ??? have not been officially commented yet. Maybe this helps new players to answer some questions quickly.

1. Fame and glory points can go beyond 30.

2. A venom token on a path can be used in a battle, independent on whether it is against a Monster or a Land. Same is true for traps.

3. Dice modifiers can push applicable dice values beyond 6.

4. If a Monster/Land battle is not won, the total damage including all modifiers will carry over and be added to all following battles against the same Monster/Land in this round.

5. When you discard mission tiles at the end of the round, they do not go back into the bag.

6. When you place a new land card (land A/B), draw a new random land path header tile and replace the old one. (see clean-up phase step 6)

7. Any mercenary (placed on a path in a land) who is still alive after a land battle (= execution of the four pathes of this land) and who did not earn any card (monster/land), allows his player to loot a treasure. It does not matter if the mercenary actually battled a monster or tried to conquer a land or if those cards were already gone from previous battles. Looting happens after the land battle in land A (left) and again after land B (right). You will never loot for defending the citadel. In other words: Mercenaries surviving a land battle without earning a card will loot.

Any mercenary still alive at the end of the adventure phase (after missions, land battles A + B, defense of the citadel), allows his player to move all left over gold and potions/venom from the mercenary’s assignment token to the clan‘s play area during the clean-up phase. Traps and defense tokens are discarded instead.

If a mercenary dies, his player does not loot a treasure or get a gold, potion or venom path benefit. The player receives the glory consolidation printed on the path instead.

It is actually an advanced tactical move to occupy the 4th Path of a land with MINIMUM dice, with the sole objective of looting or collecting gold, potion or venom benefits.

8. If a leader dies and is replaced with a new mercenary, the new leaders reputation still counts towards the total reputation.

9. Paying two gold to refresh the available mercenaries (round of beer) can only be used once each time a die is placed at the tavern.

10. Once a mercenary has been assigned to a land path it cannot be replaced during that round. The weapon equipped to that mercenary cannot be switched to another mercenary that round.

11. A leader can only be replaced if he dies. Actually in that case he must be replaced with the mercenary with the highest reputation (and cost if fame is equal) if possible.

12. Persuasion dice work the same way at the hunter’s lodge, tavern, armory, and bazaar. Remember that you cannot reduce the cost of your purchase below 1 gold.

13a. You cannot ignore dice you rolled to calculate your total. To make it easier to capture a monster, you are allowed to roll the dice on your path one by one instead of rolling all dice at once and you can choose to stop the attack at any time - but only after you reached the monster's capture value (including any 'to-capture' modifiers). If your total (including any 'to-eliminate' modifiers) exceeds the number required to kill the monster, you cannot choose to capture it instead. You might want to use re-rolls if you rolled too high for capturing. Equipped (!) venom can be used to add 2 to your total at any time. That may help to get the required number to capture a monster but not to kill it.

13b. You cannot choose to stop rolling attack dice one by one until you at least beat the capture value of a monster.

13c. If you have any 'to-eliminate' or 'to-capture' modifiers, you have to calculate two totals after each die roll: to-eliminate total and to-capture total.

13d. You must roll all dice in your path when conquering a land. You CANNOT hold back dice as if you try to capture a monster.

14. Path benefits are placed as soon as the hero assignment token is put on a path. If your mercenary survives, you can retrieve his unsused potions/venoms or gold during the clean-up phase.

15. You may put a potion, a venom or an elixir (kickstarter exclusive) on a path or a combination of those (no duplicates). The path benefit potion or venom will add a potion or venom to the path even if you already equipped your mercenary in that path with the same token.

16. Land abilities are actions.

17. Loot tokens are discarded when used.

18. The mission [which gives an equipment/mercenary card as a reward] SHOULD have a crossed gold coin [on the equipment/mercenary icon], to be in line with the similar effect on the land card [that gives a free equipment card].

19. Misprints/Inconsistencies:

19a. The green Sporus monster card is an A class monster. The print on the card says B, the rules say (correctly) A.

19b. Mission and lands may offer to draw a mercenary, equipment or loot. The icon to do so may or may not contain a crossed out coin. This is an inconsistency. Both mean you get the benefit for free. You will take the card or loot from the open items on the board and not draw them blind from the supply.

20. Some abilities trigger when you succeed on a mission (Bjorn/Eileen/Unfio). You succeed if you at least match an A-mission objective (even if you lose to another hero) or when delivering the required resources for a B-mission.
11 
 Thumb up
0.26
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Dolan
United States
Rockford
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Re: Inofficial collection of Q/A so far
For 7C - In the PDF of the rules that I have with me, under "Clean the Board", it states: "Each player take the Assignment tokens of their deployed Mercenaries who were not killed and moves all the Gold Coins, Potions and Venoms that were on their Assignment tokens to the Clan's play area.".

Not sure if it's phrased the same way in the physical rulebook, but if it's the same as above, it seems that you don't actually have to be involved in a battle of any sort to gain the path bonus. After all, there's no other way a Mercenary could have gained Gold Coins on their Assignment token.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torn
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Inofficial collection of Q/A so far
Yes, this is the deciding hint. As you said the clean-up phase on page 20 lets the player take the path benefit for gold as well as the remaining potions and venoms (no matter if path benefit or not).

The words „combat“ or „battle“ are used in some different ways in the rules. In regards to the path benefits „if you survive the battle“ really means: If a mercenary is not killed during the adventure phase, the player receives left over gold an potions/venom from the mercenary’s assignment token in the clean-up phase. Traps and defense tokens are discarded.

I did update the list with a clarification and the timing for receiving path benefits.

This makes the game flow pretty easy:
1. Missions
2. Land battle A
3. loot for surviving empty hands mercenaries in A
4. same for land B (battle + loot)
5. Defense of the citadel
6. Clean-up phase (receive left over gold, potions, venom and discard remaining traps and defense tokens)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
second gate games
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmb
Re: Inofficial collection of Q/A so far
Torn, GREAT job!!!

Thanks for summarizing what we have been saying in different threads. For now we can say that all your points are correctly collected, well done and useful!

In point 7,
Quote:
If a mercenary still lives at the end of a land battle and he did not earn a monster or land card, his player loots a treasure. Looting happens after the land battle in land A (left) and again after land B (right).
we could clarify that ANY surviving mercenaries who haven't earned a monster or land card will loot, whether they have actually taken part in a battle or not. In other words, you will also loot if Monster and Land cards are already gone from previous battles.

In point 11, you could replace the word FAME with the term REPUTATION, which is the one used in the game.

Also, you could add the term FAQ to your header, which is used more often in searches than Q/A, that makes this thread easier to find.

Super job!


TORN wrote:
The Q/A with ??? have not been officially commented yet. Maybe this helps new players to answer some questions quickly.

1. Fame and glory points can go beyond 30.

2. A venom token on a path can be used in a battle, independent on whether it is against a Monster or a Land. Same is true for traps.

3. Dice modifiers can push applicable dice values beyond 6.

4. If a Monster/Land battle is not won, the total damage including all modifiers will carry over and be added to all following battles against the same Monster/Land in this round.

5. When you discard mission tiles at the end of the round, they do not go back into the bag.

6. The path header tile (land A/B) switches when the according land changes.

7. If a mercenary still lives at the end of a land battle and he did not earn a monster or land card, his player loots a treasure. Looting happens after the land battle in land A (left) and again after land B (right).

If a mercenary still lives at the end of the adventure phase (after missions, land battles, defense of the citadel), his player moves all left over gold and potions/venom from the mercenary’s assignment token to the clan‘s play area during the clean-up phase. Traps and defense tokens are discarded instead.

If a mercenary dies, his player does not loot a treasure or get a gold, potion or venom path benefit. The player receives the glory consolidation printed on the path instead.

It is actually an advanced tactical move to occupy the 4th Path of a land with MINIMUM dice, with the sole objective of looting or collecting gold, potion or venom benefits.

8. If a leader dies and is replaced with a new mercenary, the new leaders reputation still counts towards the total reputation.

9. Paying two gold to refresh the available mercenaries (round of beer) can only be used once each time a die is placed at the tavern.

10. Once a mercenary has been assigned to a land path it cannot be replaced during that round. The weapon equipped to that mercenary cannot be switched to another mercenary that round.

11. A leader can only be replaced if he dies. Actually in that case he must be replaced with the mercenary with the highest fame (and cost if fame is equal) if possible.

12. Persuasion dice work the same way at the hunter’s lodge, tavern, armory, and bazaar. Remember that you cannot reduce the cost of your purchase below 1 gold.

13. You cannot simply ignore dice you rolled to calculate your total. If you want to capture a monster, you are allowed to roll the dice on your path one by one instead of rolling all dice at once. If your total exceeds the number required to kill the monster, you cannot choose to capture it instead. You might want to use re-rolls if you rolled too high for capturing. Equipped (!) venom can be used to add 2 to your total at any time. That may help to get the required number to capture a monster but not to kill it.

14. Usually you may put a potion, a venom or a potion and a venom on a path. The path benefit potion or venom will add a potion or venom to the path even if you already equipped your mercenary in that path with the same token. You might end up with a total of three potion/venom on your path.

15. Land abilities are actions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torn
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for your confirmation. I did updates accordingly. I did not name the thread 'FAQ' at first because that sounds so official and I did not want to sound like that.

Great job with the game! Our group liked it quite a bit. The rules are well written in general but as usual as a gamer you may not get all details right the first time. But now I do no see myself having to refer to the rules very often in the future.

As a quick feedback:

1. The presentation of the game in Essen was great. Friendly and very helpful staff made it an awesome experience for us.

2. We still think it is unfortunate that there is no way to switch the equipment on offer like you can do with mercenaries in the tavern. They became a bit underutilized in our group. We tried a house rule which says "When visiting the bazar, for 2 gold you can make the seller show you the good stuff from under the counter. Draw two extra equipment cards to have a selection of five to choose from. Afterwards discard what remains of those two cards.".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastien Maire
France
Lesquin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure to understand #6. Could you explain more in detail?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torn
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Updated description of item 6. Hopefully more clear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastien Maire
France
Lesquin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's clear!
I completely missed that point on the rulebook... We played our first games with the same path header for the whole game...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do we have to use all our dice during a fight against a monster/land? In the FAQ (and the rules), it says that you can play your dice one by one and stop if you have enough to capture. But can we say stop before, or even without having rolled a single die?

Here is a piece of information you can add to this FAQ :
SGG wrote:
there is an inconsistency in the use of symbology that slipped our consistency checks. The mission [which gives an equipment/mercenary card as a reward] SHOULD have a crossed gold coin [on the equipment/mercenary icon], to be in line with the similar effect on the land card [that gives a free equipment card].

PS : this thread should be pinned.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TORN wrote:
Looting happens after the land battle in land A (left) and again after land B (right).
I think it's easier/better to fully resolve the paths one by one, including taking a loot token if you fail to capture/kill the monster and/or capture a land. You can simply clear out the stuff from a column when done with it. It doesn't change the order of anything, and saves you having to go back after all the battles and remember which mercenary did what.

TORN wrote:
9. Paying two gold to refresh the available mercenaries (round of beer) can only be used once each time a die is placed at the tavern.
Seems like an unnecessary rule. I would let players spend the money. In fact I would also let players spend money to cycle equipment. No idea why that isn't officially allowed.

TORN wrote:
11. A leader can only be replaced if he dies. Actually in that case he must be replaced with the mercenary with the highest reputation (and cost if fame is equal) if possible.
The whole leader concept in this game is kinda weird. It doesn't mean much. Not sure why they added it. Or I wonder what they subtracted if/when leaders had a more meaningful role.

This FAQ is missing a question about whether any/all dice must be rolled when conquering a land (and you know you'll lose, but there's another mercenary behind you). There's an unanswered thread on this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kakuuuu wrote:
PS : this thread should be pinned.
PPS: BGG should add support for pinned threads in game forums.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
curtc wrote:
In fact I would also let players spend money to cycle equipment. No idea why that isn't officially allowed.

Yes, it's kind of weird because there have been games where nobody bought any equipment, and the 3 items stayed the same for the whole game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kakuuuu wrote:
curtc wrote:
In fact I would also let players spend money to cycle equipment. No idea why that isn't officially allowed.

Yes, it's kind of weird because there have been games where nobody bought any equipment, and the 3 items stayed the same for the whole game.
I house-rule it that both mercs and equipment are actually queues, and the oldest one of each falls off the end and is replaced during end-of-round cleanup.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
curtc wrote:
kakuuuu wrote:
curtc wrote:
In fact I would also let players spend money to cycle equipment. No idea why that isn't officially allowed.

Yes, it's kind of weird because there have been games where nobody bought any equipment, and the 3 items stayed the same for the whole game.
I house-rule it that both mercs and equipment are actually queues, and the oldest one of each falls off the end and is replaced during end-of-round cleanup.

Sounds good for the equipments.
Did you feel that much necessary to cycle the mercenary cards in your games?

For the equipments, I think I'll adopt the same as the mercenary tavern : pay 2 gold and discard all equipments to have 3 new ones in display. Just like mercenaries, the one that pays has first dibs on the "prime cuts" arrrh
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kakuuuu wrote:
Sounds good for the equipments.
Did you feel that much necessary to cycle the mercenary cards in your games?
Sometimes, but definitely not as much as equipment. I just prefer to have consistent rules for things that look similar and work similarly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torn
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
@Curt
We play looting like you do, clearing the board while we go, but the rules say after A and B.

I use a house rule for equipment: spend 2 gold to draw two equipment, make your choice from those and the 3 on the table, put the remaining drawn card(s) under the equipment deck. This ruling has IMHO some advantages over an auto refresh at rounds start, which can benefit the same players throughout the game (the weakest one and the ones sitting next to him, which might even be the leading player).

About the leaders. Yes, maybe a bit underutilized. However, they define your setup and they do not cost gold every round. Of course there is design space for more...thinking about leveling up your leader...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torn
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kakuuuu wrote:
Do we have to use all our dice during a fight against a monster/land? In the FAQ (and the rules), it says that you can play your dice one by one and stop if you have enough to capture. But can we say stop before, or even without having rolled a single die?

You can roll your dice one by one only when trying to capture a monster. Rules say that you can stop any time, that means even before rolling the first die.

The rules for conquering a land do not provide the option to roll dice one by one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TORN wrote:
I use a house rule for equipment: spend 2 gold to draw two equipment, make your choice from those and the 3 on the table, put the remaining drawn card(s) under the equipment deck. This ruling has IMHO some advantages over an auto refresh at rounds start, which can benefit the same players throughout the game (the weakest one and the ones sitting next to him, which might even be the leading player).
That sounds good to keep things moving, except when nobody wants any of the cards on offer. I've seen that, and that's when it stagnates.

I don't think cycling a card really helps anyone that much. And if it does, it's just one player, and that's supposed to be a catch-up mechanism anyway. But since a new card comes out after every purchase anyway, your argument would imply that any purchase helps the next person, which is kind of ridiculous.

Another minor house rule I'm thinking of adding: Make the top card of both decks face up so you know what will be coming in after someone buys a merc/equipment. We've been doing this for years with the Power Grid deck and love it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TORN wrote:
The rules for conquering a land do not provide the option to roll dice one by one.
Nor do they provide the option to roll all the dice together.

Rules say: "In the same way as when fighting the Monster, if the first mercenary fails to conquer the active Land, the modified result of their roll will be added to the rolls of the next Mercenary who attempts it."

If it's the same as when fighting a monster, what do the rules there say about that? "...you may roll your dice one by one and stop your attack at any point." Does any point include rolling zero dice? Even for monsters. I would assume so, but it's not 100% clear. Especially because the quoted sentence above starts with, ""If you are particularly interested in capturing the Monster as opposed to eliminating it, ..." which could imply that you must at least continue rolling until you've at least captured it or run out of dice. But again, it's just not clear.

Not sure why the designer/publisher isn't clarifying this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torn
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The full rules to conquer a land say:

From left to right, each remaining Mercenary will try to match
or exceed the Conquest Value of the active Land, rolling the dice
that they deployed on that Path and applying all modifiers.

In the same way as when fighting the Monster, if the first Mercenary
fails to conquer the active Land, the result of their roll and their
improved Traps will be added to the rolls of the next Mercenary
who attempts it.


First sentence says rolling the dice that you deployed for a mercenary. This has no option to roll 1 by 1 an especially no clause that you can stop any time rolling.

Second sentence refers to "if the first Mercenary fails" not to how to roll the dice.

In my opinion this is clear enough: 1. Roll all dice and add modifiers 2. If you fail, your hits total will help the next mercenary in line (like when battling a monster and failing).

I agree that the wording might lead to misunderstanding. A better version may be:

If the first Mercenary fails to conquer the active Land, in the same way as when fighting the Monster the result of their roll and their
improved Traps will be added to the rolls of the next Mercenary who attempts it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think the language as written is clear enough to draw concrete conclusions. I don't think "rolling the dice" dictates you must roll all, and I think "in the same way as fighting a monster" leaves the door open for choosing to stop rolling at any time. Even if it is referring to failing, one way to fail is to stop rolling.

I don't think your rewrite fixes the problem. Rules need to explicitly say whether you must roll all dice or not. Especially if there's a comparison with monster battles.

Anyway, I'm biased in my interpretation, as I think giving players the choice is both more thematic and more interesting game play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torn
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am not a native speaker so I might be lost on the subtleties of the language.

The rules say that you roll the dice in your path. Not one, some or any but THE dice in your path.

The link to „the same way as with monsters“ is not part of this sentence but the next one which explains the case that the roll fails.

I am not sure why somebody would mix up those sentences?

However, I do have one benefit: I do have the German rules as well and they explicitly say „you roll ALL dice on your path“. That settles it for me at least. ;-)

I would agree that it might be an interesting option to choose not to roll at all, so that you do not make it easier for the next player, if you have decided that chances are high you will not beat the land anyhow.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TORN wrote:
The rules say that you roll the dice in your path. Not one, some or any but THE dice in your path.
Monster battle says the same thing. But later clarifies that you don't really need to roll them all. And rules for land battles simply lean on the rules already presented for monster battles without stating them explicitly.

TORN wrote:
The link to „the same way as with monsters“ is not part of this sentence but the next one which explains the case that the roll fails.

I am not sure why somebody would mix up those sentences?
I am not sure why you think I'm mixing them up. As I said in my previous post, even if you restrict the comparison to monster battles strictly to failing (seems ingenuous, as the mercenary attack is so so similar that they didn't explain it again), one way to fail in monster battles is to choose to stop rolling. And the question is not strictly limited to land battles. The rules for fighting monsters say you can stop rolling if you want to capture. But not that you must actually capture to stop rolling.

TORN wrote:
However, I do have one benefit: I do have the German rules as well and they explicitly say „you roll ALL dice on your path“. That settles it for me at least. ;-)
But the rules were translated from which language to which? Game came from Spain, so I guess we should consult the Spanish rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Publisher chimed in here: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/30432426#30432426

So for monsters you can only stop rolling if successfully capture/kill the monster. So I would assume you must roll all your dice for land battles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torn
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Updated section 13 accordingly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   |