Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Shadowrun: Crossfire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Applying damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
rick haroutunian
Canada
Georgetown
ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I am new to the game so I apologize in advance for not knowing the proper terminology before I ask the question.

I will use the katana and the gargoyle obstacle in my example.

The katana does ‘2 guns’ of damage (excluding its ability).

The third and fourth levels on the gargoyle require ‘1 gun’ of damage to clear.

My question is this.

Does the total damage on a card only get applied to one level of damage on an obstacle, or, can I complete the 3rd and 4th levels of the gargoyle with the katana?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frankie Bones
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All damage goes into a pool so if you have two black from anywhere, you can use it to complete both levels.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rickjunyor wrote:
I am new to the game so I apologize in advance for not knowing the proper terminology before I ask the question.

I will use the katana and the gargoyle obstacle in my example.

The katana does ‘2 guns’ of damage (excluding its ability).

The third and fourth levels on the gargoyle require ‘1 gun’ of damage to clear.

My question is this.

Does the total damage on a card only get applied to one level of damage on an obstacle, or, can I complete the 3rd and 4th levels of the gargoyle with the katana?

Damage on a played card enters your damage pool.
Each card can only be applied to one encounter, but if a card does more than 1 damage, any unused damage can still be used against that obstacle.

The Gargoyle's levels are 6 / 6 / B / B ... In this example, a Katana can indeed clear the 3rd and 4th levels, provided the first two levels had already been cleared.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Davis
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you're still having questions, try this: (I've never understood why they didn't explain it like this in the rulebook.)

Example of Play
You have 4 cards in hand: Mana, Quick Shot, Katana, and Jacked In.
Ancients Ganger (Blue/3/Black) is facing you.
Eye Alarm (2/R/1/Blue) is facing another player.
Neither Obstacle has any damage.

Your Play Cards step begins:
1. You play Katana against Ancients Ganger and generate 2 black dmg.
2. You play Jacked In against Ancients Ganger and generate 1 green and 1 gray dmg.
3. You play Mana on Ancients Ganger and generate 1 blue dmg.
4. You play Quick Shot on Eye Alarm and generate 1 black dmg, plus it gains 1 gray dmg from Katana's ability.

Your Apply Damage step begins:
Ancient Ganger has a total of 2 black, 1 green, 1 gray, and 1 blue damage generated against it (what we often call the "pool"), but not yet applied.
- You apply the 1 blue to clear the 1st damage track level.
- You apply the green, gray, and one of the blacks to clear the 2nd damage track.
- You apply the remaining black to clear the 3rd damage track.
Ancient Ganger is defeated.

Eye Alarm has a total of 1 black and 1 gray damage generated against it.
- You apply both to clear the 1st damage track level.



edit - fixed each card's damage track. I had them switched around.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davro33 wrote:
If you're still having questions, try this: (I've never understood why they didn't explain it like this in the rulebook.)

Example of Play
You have 4 cards in hand: Mana, Quick Shot, Katana, and Jacked In.
Ancients Ganger (2/R/1/Blue) is facing you.
Eye Alarm (Blue/3/Black) is facing another player.
Neither Obstacle has any damage.

Your Play Cards step begins:
1. You play Katana against Ancients Ganger and generate 2 black dmg.
2. You play Jacked In against Ancients Ganger and generate 1 green and 1 gray dmg.
3. You play Mana on Ancients Ganger and generate 1 blue dmg.
4. You play Quick Shot on Eye Alarm and generate 1 black dmg, plus it gains 1 gray dmg from Katana's ability.

Your Apply Damage step begins:
Ancient Ganger has a total of 2 black, 1 green, 1 gray, and 1 blue damage generated against it (what we often call the "pool"), but not yet applied.
- You apply the 1 blue to clear the 1st damage track level.
- You apply the green, gray, and one of the blacks to clear the 2nd damage track.
- You apply the remaining black to clear the 3rd damage track.
Ancient Ganger is defeated.

Eye Alarm has a total of 1 black and 1 gray damage generated against it.
- You apply both to clear the 1st damage track level.
Example might be better if the Eye Alarm was defeated and the Ancient Ganger was wounded by one level.

Better now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frankie Bones
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davro33 wrote:
If you're still having questions, try this: (I've never understood why they didn't explain it like this in the rulebook.)

Example of Play
You have 4 cards in hand: Mana, Quick Shot, Katana, and Jacked In.
Ancients Ganger (2/R/1/Blue) is facing you.
Eye Alarm (Blue/3/Black) is facing another player.
Neither Obstacle has any damage.

Your Play Cards step begins:
1. You play Katana against Ancients Ganger and generate 2 black dmg.
2. You play Jacked In against Ancients Ganger and generate 1 green and 1 gray dmg.
3. You play Mana on Ancients Ganger and generate 1 blue dmg.
4. You play Quick Shot on Eye Alarm and generate 1 black dmg, plus it gains 1 gray dmg from Katana's ability.

Your Apply Damage step begins:
Ancient Ganger has a total of 2 black, 1 green, 1 gray, and 1 blue damage generated against it (what we often call the "pool"), but not yet applied.
- You apply the 1 blue to clear the 1st damage track level.
- You apply the green, gray, and one of the blacks to clear the 2nd damage track.
- You apply the remaining black to clear the 3rd damage track.
Ancient Ganger is defeated.

Eye Alarm has a total of 1 black and 1 gray damage generated against it.
- You apply both to clear the 1st damage track level.
Yeah, I think you reversed the two cards but excellent example of how to apply the damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Davis
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BrokenAxe wrote:
Yeah, I think you reversed the two cards but excellent example of how to apply the damage.
Whoops, yes I did! I'll go fix my post.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls