Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Talisman (Revised 4th Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: What does it mean for an event to last X rounds? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris McDonald
United States
Louisville
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say there are 3 players: the Dwarf, Elf, and Minstrel, in that order. The Elf draws a blizzard on his turn, which lasts for 2 rounds.

When does the blizzard end? Is the round counted only based on the turn order (so the round ends at the end of the Minstrel's turn regardless of who played the event)?

If so, the current round counted (so round 1 is over as soon as the minstrel's next turn is over)?

If you instead track the player who drew the event, do you count to the beginning of their turn or the end of the turn?

All of these interpretations seem plausible to me:

Minstrel
[Round 1 ends]
Dwarf
Elf
Minstrel
[Round 2 ends and Blizzard ends]

Minstrel
Dwarf
Elf
Minstrel
[Round 1 ends]
Dwarf
Elf
Minstrel
[Round 2 ends and Blizzard ends]


Minstrel
Dwarf
[Round 1 ends]
Elf
Minstrel
Dwarf
[Round 2 ends and Blizzard ends]

Minstrel
Dwarf
Elf
[Round 1 ends]
Minstrel
Dwarf
Elf
[Round 2 ends and Blizzard ends]



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Nugent
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The round ends after a full cycle of play. For example;

Elf (drew blizzard, end of turn)
Dwarf (same region as Elf, misses turn)
Minstrel (different region to Elf, takes turn)
Elf (misses turn, end of round 1)

Dwarf (same region as Elf, misses turn)
Minstrel (different region to Elf, takes turn)
Elf (misses turn, end of round 2, Blizzard ends)

Dwarf (takes turn, normal play resumes)


Does that make sense?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris McDonald
United States
Louisville
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Pheonom wrote:
The round ends after a full cycle of play. For example;

Elf (drew blizzard, end of turn)
Dwarf (same region as Elf, misses turn)
Minstrel (different region to Elf, takes turn)
Elf (misses turn, end of round 1)

Dwarf (same region as Elf, misses turn)
Minstrel (different region to Elf, takes turn)
Elf (misses turn, end of round 2, Blizzard ends)

Dwarf (takes turn, normal play resumes)


Does that make sense?


Yes, makes sense. Is this written anywhere in the rules / FAQ? This means you have to track exactly which character drew the event then, to know when it stops. How in practice do people do this given that the card stays on the board?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan
Germany
Rostock
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I like to put one unused die on the blizzard card as a reminder, showing two pips. After each time the character who triggered the event has finished a turn, the die value is lowered by one. When the value reaches zero, two rounds have passed.

Of course, then you have to remember to lower the die value, but c'est la vie.

cfmcdonald wrote:
Is this written anywhere in the rules / FAQ?
As I'm aware of, not exactly. But it's an old game, so I guess a round can classically be understood as "each player around the table takes a turn". And a turn is defined on page 8 of the base game rules as movement phase followed by encounter phase.

My reasoning in more detail: The blizzard event is resolved in the elf's encounter phase, its ability affects movement. So only the next player in his movement phase, minstrel, can be the first character affected by it. And that would result in:
cfmcdonald wrote:
Minstrel
Dwarf
Elf
[Round 1 ends]
Minstrel
Dwarf
Elf
[Round 2 ends and Blizzard ends]
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Nugent
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Markander wrote:
I like to put one unused die on the blizzard card as a reminder, showing two pips. After each time the character who triggered the event has finished a turn, the die value is lowered by one. When the value reaches zero, two rounds have passed.


This is how we typically manage things too and it seems to work well. We also flip a character on their side to represent them missing their next turn, which also works well for us.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mathias van butsele
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cfmcdonald wrote:

Minstrel
Dwarf
Elf
[Round 1 ends]
Minstrel
Dwarf
Elf
[Round 2 ends and Blizzard ends]

Seems decent to me, as it makes sure every character may suffer its effects twice. (=for 2 rounds).
The same as Fortune's fool or Dark denizens.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Beijer
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Some cards, I don’t know them by heart, change the dynamics by adding the phrase ”including this turn” meaning the effect starts with the character who drew the card, even if it is by the end of that characters turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.