Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Pacific Victory (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Out of Supply Units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Boone
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state the last Step of a Ground unit can not be Eliminated for being out of Supply.

1. If Manila is surrounded by the Japanese, can MacArthur or any out of Supply unit be voluntarily eliminated?

2. Can an Out of Supply SHQ be used to spend SM Points for Strategic Moves, Sea Invasions, or Raids?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Crawford
United States
Chester
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
good questions. I can't find answers in the RAW. Need some support from Columbia Games on this forum.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Boone
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the answer is no, it seems like the Japanese should just surround MacArthur and not eliminate him on Manila in the Rising Sun scenario.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Urquhart
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
That is certainly what the rules say. An SHQ is a ground unit, and ground units can only be destroyed when attacked by infantry.

7.1 Supply The supply of all units is determined during the Logistics Phase. Unsupplied units cannot build steps this phase and are subject to one (1) step loss, except All ground units at step-1 are immune to supply attrition.

3.3 Ground Units Infantry, Armor, Garrisons, Marines, and SHQs are all ground units

It would seem a very cunning Japanese tactic to cut off Manila and just leave MacArthur to rot. Sure, they woouldn't get the one point, but neither would the Allies and the Allies would also not get to use MacArthur.

I'm going to play that "All ground units at step 1, with the exception of SHQs, are immune to attrition." So if the Japanese cut off Manila MacArthur dies, and can be rebuilt in Sydney.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.