Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Dominion: Renaissance» Forums » General

Subject: Can't wait to play Capitalism (spoiler alert) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't wait for the entire set of Renaissance, but especially for the Project card called Capitalism. It turns any action card with a +coin symbol in its text into a treasure card capable of being played in the buy phase for the coin alone.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yet another way for Black Market to get confusing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jozxyqk wrote:
Yet another way for Black Market to get confusing.


Not sure I see how.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rickert wrote:
jozxyqk wrote:
Yet another way for Black Market to get confusing.


Not sure I see how.


Some examples which are only mildly confusing, off the top of my head:

1) You can play multiple Black Markets during your Buy phase.

2) You can play a Black Market during your Buy Phase, purchase a Villa and jump immediately back to your Action Phase before your actual Buy Phase began.

3) You could play Venture, and then draw into a Black Market and play it to trigger an unexpected Black Market phase.

I dunno.. just sounds like it could get hairy.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's another one:
Black Market, played during your normal Action Phase, lets you play your Treasures early.
And those Treasures, with Capitalism, now include every action that has +$ on it. So that's like +X actions, but all played within a sub-action-phase that happens before a sub-buy-phase. And those could also be other Black Markets....

There's your loopy confusion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Werner Bär
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jozxyqk wrote:
1) You can play multiple Black Markets during your Buy phase.
2) You can play a Black Market during your Buy Phase, purchase a Villa and jump immediately back to your Action Phase before your actual Buy Phase began.

You play the Black Market for $2, ignoring the thext on the card.

jozxyqk wrote:
3) You could play Venture, and then draw into a Black Market and play it to trigger an unexpected Black Market phase.

Since Black Market doesn't have card type "treasure", it would be discarded.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Werbaer wrote:
jozxyqk wrote:
1) You can play multiple Black Markets during your Buy phase.
2) You can play a Black Market during your Buy Phase, purchase a Villa and jump immediately back to your Action Phase before your actual Buy Phase began.

You play the Black Market for $2, ignoring the thext on the card.


Capitalism doesn't say to ignore text on the card. It says that they're also Treasures.


Werbaer wrote:
jozxyqk wrote:
3) You could play Venture, and then draw into a Black Market and play it to trigger an unexpected Black Market phase.

Since Black Market doesn't have card type "treasure", it would be discarded.


Capitalism explicitly gives it the additional card type "Treasure". That's what it does!
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Teverbaugh
United States
Anderson
Indiana (IN)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Werbaer wrote:
jozxyqk wrote:
1) You can play multiple Black Markets during your Buy phase.
2) You can play a Black Market during your Buy Phase, purchase a Villa and jump immediately back to your Action Phase before your actual Buy Phase began.

You play the Black Market for $2, ignoring the thext on the card.

jozxyqk wrote:
3) You could play Venture, and then draw into a Black Market and play it to trigger an unexpected Black Market phase.

Since Black Market doesn't have card type "treasure", it would be discarded.


I agree with you. When you play any action card in the buy phase as a treasure card, you don't use the rest of the ability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Brendel
United States
Dunwoody
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You don't play it "as a treasure card." It is a treasure card, and thus you are allowed to play it. When you do, it will do whatever it always does.

This is why rulebook specifically calls out that you can't use Actions to play action cards during the buy phase, because playing your action-treasures might give you +Actions.
8 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On a semi-related note, I'm hoping in a later set/promo, we also get a Project card called "Communism". Not just to try it out, but discovering how RGG?Donald ties theme and various cards together is fascinating in on itself.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:
On a semi-related note, I'm hoping in a later set/promo, we also get a Project card called "Communism". Not just to try it out, but discovering how RGG?Donald ties theme and various cards together is fascinating in on itself.


Commmunism: Whenever you gain a card, all other players gain a copy of that card. If there aren't enough copies of that card in the Supply for everyone to get one, you gain all remaining copies instead.

devil
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald X.
United States
flag msg tools
designer
jozxyqk wrote:
Werbaer wrote:
jozxyqk wrote:
1) You can play multiple Black Markets during your Buy phase.
2) You can play a Black Market during your Buy Phase, purchase a Villa and jump immediately back to your Action Phase before your actual Buy Phase began.

You play the Black Market for $2, ignoring the thext on the card.


Capitalism doesn't say to ignore text on the card. It says that they're also Treasures.


Werbaer wrote:
jozxyqk wrote:
3) You could play Venture, and then draw into a Black Market and play it to trigger an unexpected Black Market phase.

Since Black Market doesn't have card type "treasure", it would be discarded.


Capitalism explicitly gives it the additional card type "Treasure". That's what it does!

Correct. You still do everything the card does, regardless of when you play it.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Glory to Rome!
badge
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct me if these statements are wrong please...

Capitalism only cares about the + symbol in the text, regardless of whether the card actually produces when it is played. Examples: Ironworks, Tribute (for those of us with 1st ed.), Pawn, Steward.

Capitalism does not care about + from an Adventures token since it is not in the card text.

Capitalism does not care about + from an Estate due to Inheritance since Estate has no card text of its own.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt E
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
darthnice wrote:
Capitalism only cares about the + symbol in the text, regardless of whether the card actually produces when it is played. Examples: Ironworks, Tribute (for those of us with 1st ed.), Pawn, Steward.

Correct.

darthnice wrote:
Capitalism does not care about + from an Adventures token since it is not in the card text.

Correct.

darthnice wrote:
Capitalism does not care about + from an Estate due to Inheritance since Estate has no card text of its own.

Incorrect. Estates inherit the abilities of another card, and that means its text. In fact Dominion Online has a bunch of new templates for when an Estate is a Treasure and an Action (and possibly a Duration, Reaction, etc.).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Glory to Rome!
badge
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While Vault is amazing self-combo with Capitalism, Vassal has the potential to be completely bananas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
Other intriguing and/or nifty Capitalism interactions I'm seeing: Steward, Minion, Poor House, Storyteller.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Brandt
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LastFootnote wrote:
darthnice wrote:
Capitalism does not care about + from an Estate due to Inheritance since Estate has no card text of its own.

Incorrect. Estates inherit the abilities of another card, and that means its text. In fact Dominion Online has a bunch of new templates for when an Estate is a Treasure and an Action (and possibly a Duration, Reaction, etc.).


To add to this, you can reach the correct conclusion even if you assume that "abilities" is not equivalent to "text". Estates inherit the types of another card. If the card you Inherited has the +coins symbol in its text and you've bought Capitalism, then that Inherited card has the "Treasure" type on your turns, therefore your Estates do as well (at least on your turns).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.