Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Arkham Horror (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you attack an exhausted enemy/what happens if you do? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
May S.
msg tools
Does an exhausted enemy that is attacked automatically engages with the investigator that attacked it or does it stay exhausted until the monster phase #3 where exhausted monsters ready?

For example, an investigator moves into a space with a monster, the monster engages automatically, and for their second action the investigator successfully evades - the monster is now exhausted. Since a successful evade gets you an additional action, could I take that action to attack the enemy and if I do, does that change the state of the monster or does it stay exhausted until the monster phase? Or can you only attack engaged enemies? Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
May S.
msg tools
Got it, thanks! So I can attack it, it’ll just re-engage and be ready to beat on me during it’s monster phase, so no point in trying to evade first... I appreciate it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J P
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can attack exhausted enemies and you do not engage them.

Rules Reference #409.6: “If the monster you are attacking is exhausted, you do not engage it. The monster remains exhausted and you deal damage as normal.”
18 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DancingFool does have the correct answer here. It's always a good idea to double-check the manual before answering a query like this.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
May S.
msg tools
Oh wow, awesome! I thought I read the rules about this but clearly not well enough. Great! I’ll definitely do my evade and attack routine from now on. Thank you!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark horneff
United Kingdom
london
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow this changes alot for me.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krzysiek Domański
Poland
Wrocław
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
decaramas wrote:
Wow this changes alot for me.
[offtopic]Relevant.[/offtopic]
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.