Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Monster Slaughter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bonus Actions limited by amount of regular actions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Csida
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Hi there!

I have a question about Bonus Action cards.

The rulebook says:

In addition to the monster’s regular actions and special abilities, each monster has:
- one free move that does not count toward its actions; and
- as many bonus actions from the active player’s hand as the active player wishes to use.
All these possible actions may be performed in any order during the active player’s turn.


As it specifically says "does not count toward its actions" for the free move, is this also the case for the bonus action cards?

So either:
A) Bonus action cards are also not limited by the amount of the player's regular actions
or
B) You can play "as many bonus actions" as you want during your turn, but you are limited to the amount of actions (e.g. 2x bonus action cards with a father, but no more actions left afterwards)

You can interpret the description in both ways, especially when before the free move states "does not count toward its actions".

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Pickering
United Kingdom
Virgin Islands
flag msg tools
A.

‘As many bonus actions........ as the active player wishes to use’, so not limited (or part of) the number of regular actions a monster can take.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Csida
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
pickerim wrote:
A.

‘As many bonus actions........ as the active player wishes to use’, so not limited (or part of) the number of regular actions a monster can take.


Yeah, but you can also understand this in a way that you're allowed to use more than one bonus action card in your turn, especially because in the line above about the free movement it says that the free movement doesn't count towards the regular action limit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Pickering
United Kingdom
Virgin Islands
flag msg tools
Hurt wrote:
pickerim wrote:
A.

‘As many bonus actions........ as the active player wishes to use’, so not limited (or part of) the number of regular actions a monster can take.


Yeah, but you can also understand this in a way that you're allowed to use more than one bonus action card in your turn, especially because in the line above about the free movement it says that the free movement doesn't count towards the regular action limit.


But the section you’ve quoted starts with the words ‘In addition to the monster’s regular actions...’. The rulebook defines what the regular actions are (move, scare, peek, smash, fight and search). Playing a bonus action isn’t defined as a regular action so doesn’t count as one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Csida
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
pickerim wrote:
Hurt wrote:
pickerim wrote:
A.

‘As many bonus actions........ as the active player wishes to use’, so not limited (or part of) the number of regular actions a monster can take.


Yeah, but you can also understand this in a way that you're allowed to use more than one bonus action card in your turn, especially because in the line above about the free movement it says that the free movement doesn't count towards the regular action limit.


But the section you’ve quoted starts with the words ‘In addition to the monster’s regular actions...’. The rulebook defines what the regular actions are (move, scare, peek, smash, fight and search). Playing a bonus action isn’t defined as a regular action so doesn’t count as one.


True! Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geo Wood
msg tools
mb
Just popping by to confirm what Martin said, good answer!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.