GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,810 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Unicornus Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Emperor's power question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Worm Johnson
msg tools
"Imperial units in this area cannot be moved or have military power removed by cards and special powers."

Had a little discussion about this. Does this mean that units on his area never move period, or just by player cards and special powers? Ex. would the surrounding "neutral" soldiers move to attack adjacent kingdom units?

The grammar led to a discussion that technically, if it just meant that the players can't move them, that there should be commas after "moved" and "removed" (or "have military power removed" in parentheses). As written, the grammar indicates that they cannot be moved (by anything) with removal being impossible except by combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Ramus
msg tools
designer
Ora et Labora
badge
In Saecula Saeculorum
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say they never, ever, move are moved.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Worm Johnson
msg tools
Hmmmm...

that would make the "Curse of Immortality" event kind of pointless. You just stick some inconsequential empire character in the far corner and they never attack you. The only effect they'd ever have is +1 to the emperor's shield value.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Ramus
msg tools
designer
Ora et Labora
badge
In Saecula Saeculorum
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've got you wrong, I'm sorry. Cannot be moved ≠ Cannot move.

You're right, they cannot be moved, never, ever, but they WILL move if a Kingdom Character is adjacent. At least that's how we've been playing all this time.

But even if the rule was like they never, ever move (like a defensive unit), it could still be harder than it looks; for instance, if the Chancellor is still alive after the Emperor is dead all units (both Normal and Aggressive) would then attack her.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Cooksey
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've always played it that the military power on that area doesn't move for any reason as long as the Emperor is alive. Then they all pile on when the Emperor dies, and usually whichever character killed the Emperor dies. Sometimes it's tricky to get enough of them out of the way for the princess to get to the capital without being overwhelmed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Ramus
msg tools
designer
Ora et Labora
badge
In Saecula Saeculorum
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ldd23 wrote:
I've always played it that the military power on that area doesn't move for any reason as long as the Emperor is alive. Then they all pile on when the Emperor dies, and usually whichever character killed the Emperor dies. Sometimes it's tricky to get enough of them out of the way for the princess to get to the capital without being overwhelmed.


This would work really well had you no need to check the Victory condition at the end of the Princess Step; so, as soon as the Princess is left alone in that Space the game is over since this step ends before it's the Enemies' turn.

So - as long as you leave the Emperor to the Princess and just works to clean the path - things will work as you said if (and only if) the Chancellor is still alive after the Emperor has been defeated. Leaving the Emperor to the Princess has been the easiest way to win here, no need to rush to kill him.

If you change the rules so that you check the Victory Condition at the end of the Round (step 6), then never allowing units to move make a LOT of sense, as it does rushing ahead to kill the Emperor. It definitely makes for an interesting set of variants, it may end up leaving the game harder actually.

The rules of this game are still a mess by the way (not that we care here, this game ask for roleplaying).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Cooksey
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rafael Ramus wrote:
ldd23 wrote:
I've always played it that the military power on that area doesn't move for any reason as long as the Emperor is alive. Then they all pile on when the Emperor dies, and usually whichever character killed the Emperor dies. Sometimes it's tricky to get enough of them out of the way for the princess to get to the capital without being overwhelmed.


This would work really well had you no need to check the Victory condition at the end of the Princess Step; so, as soon as the Princess is left alone in that Space the game is over since this step ends before it's the Enemies' turn.

So - as long as you leave the Emperor to the Princess and just works to clean the path - things will work as you said if (and only if) the Chancellor is still alive after the Emperor has been defeated. Leaving the Emperor to the Princess has been the easiest way to win here, no need to rush to kill him.


We've frequently had the Reinforcements(?) event come up, so by the time we get to the capital there are 8 military strength in each space. It's hard for the princess to survive that and the Emperor, so we've had to rush in ourselves anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.