GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,385 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Twin Peaks» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reaction Facing Change rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike M
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
Am I correct in reading series rules 9.61 and 9.62 that a non-phasing unit may only change facing once per enemy brigade activation and only by one hex (edit: vertex facing)? That non-phasing unit may only do so if an enemy moves adjacent or if it fires from somewhere outside of its frontal "vision cone", and when doing so much conduct a cohesion UDD die roll (infantry/cavalary) or simply take a -2DRM (edit: artillery) for the immediately subsequent return fire or approach fire (or for for all remaining fire opportunities within that enemy brigade activation?).


How is "one per enemy brigade activation" interpreted in the context of a coordinated brigade attack? If two brigades coordinate, is that one chance to change facing or two? The answer to this may also affect other actions such as artillery withdrawal fire allowances, return fire allowances, etc.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Byrne
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Units using Reaction Facing Change pivot one vertex, not one hex.

Brigade Coordination means activating multiple brigades as if they were one brigade. Non-phasing units are limited to one Reaction Facing Change when the enemy coordinates brigades.

Thus, you have pointed to another advantage of Brigade Coordination, one I didn't include in my response to your forum on that topic.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike M
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
Okay that is more clear now. So if you coordinate you can take advantage of that by advancing coordinated brigades in the enemy's front, flank, and rear and that non-phasing enemy will not be able to stay facing in front of all the attackers and suffer the various modifier effects of that during fire and shock combat.

Can a non-phasing unit at the end of a line, at risk of such an envelopment attack, refuse its flank instead of reaction facing, or is refusing one's flank only allowed for an activated unit's movement phase?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Byrne
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"Refuse" costs MP and is thus available only to phasing units.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.