GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,872 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Peter R.
Italy
Bozen
Italy
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am still learning the game and I have some difficult time to fully comprehend the rules so I am not sure that we play this game right.

The following was a situation in the game we played today

Our distance: 3
My opponent has 2 Sakura tokens in his aura and 3 life.
I have 0 Sakura tokens in my aura and 1 life left.

I play the Special card "Rhythmic Arc" paying 4 Sakura tokens from the flare.
This card deals three distinct attacks if in the right range.
It went like this:
Range 2-3, Damage: 1/1
He removes one token from his aura
Range 3-4, Damage: 1/1
He removes his last token from his aura
Range: 2-4, Damage 2/1
He plays his special card "Uranami Storm" paying 3 Sakura tokens from his flare.
The after attack changes my attack from 2/1 to 0/1.
Now his reaction attack comes to effect 2/-

My questions:
1. As I have no aura is this attack applied to the life or does it simply fizzle because it only applies to aura?
2. If it does not fizzle could I play a Reaction card to react to a opponents Reaction card as this technically is an attack against me.


We played 1. it applies to life and 2. I couldn't play a Reaction card in response to a Reaction card, so I lost the game, even though I had enough other cards for additional attacks that would have given me the victory.
Writing down this questions my gutfeeling says to me the we played 1. wrong.

If I would have survived the attack now would have happened the following:
He chooses 0 damage from my 0/1 attack to his Aura.

3. is the order in which I resolved the effects right?


Opinion:
There is really a lot to consider and to get used to; Lot's of moving parts; I love this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bigney
United States
Alexandria Bay
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. It fizzles as the attack can do no damage to life by itself.
2. No reactions to reactions, I think.
3. Reactions always take place before the attack to which they react.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
prairial ledeux
Japan
flag msg tools
mbmb
A supplemental explanation for question 1:

Quote:

5-4 Taking Damage
However if the player has fewer Sakura tokens on their
Aura than the amount of Damage that would be dealt to it, the player must
choose Life.
If the Attack card indicates “-” Damage to either the Aura or Life (see 2-1 Card
Anatomy page 16), then the player taking the Damage must choose to take the
only Damage they can.

The latter description is an exception for the first description.
(which is made clear in Japanese rulebook only...)
So in this case, you have to choose aura.

Quote:

6-2 Fundamental Rules
If you don’t have enough Sakura tokens when you are dealt damage or gain the
effects of cards, you move as many Sakura tokens as possible.

So it fizzles.
If you had had just 1 token in aura, it was sent to shadow.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter R.
Italy
Bozen
Italy
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks everybody! Now it is much clearer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Wehrum
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gyges wrote:
2. No reactions to reactions, I think.

Really? Where do you get that from?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hong Tai Lee
msg tools
You can have reactions to Reaction / Attack cards.

If let's say you played an attack, then "I" played a reaction / attack, then you played a reaction / ACTION card, I can't play any more reactions.

I literally have to be on the receiving end of an attack to be able to play a reaction card.

It seems like there's some dude on the forums saying he read the JP official FAQ (in JP), but no where in the FAQ does it actually state no reactions to reactions. Actually, if it were, I'd expect the manual to be extremely explicit about it.

If you want, check this out:

https://main-bakafire.ssl-lolipop.jp/furuyoni/sp/faq.html
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
prairial ledeux
Japan
flag msg tools
mbmb
Gyges wrote:
2. No reactions to reactions, I think.

It's true. It's not on FAQ because clearly stated in Japanese rulebook.
https://main-bakafire.ssl-lolipop.jp//furuyoni/obj/rulebook....

4.3 攻撃カードの使い方
Quote:

注意:もし対応したカードが攻撃カードであったとしても、さらに対応を行うことはできません。

(Caution:Even if the used Reaction card (as a Reaction) is Attack, you can't react furthermore.)


Unfortunately, it's not stated in English rulebook (again...)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Wehrum
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for clearing this up, prairial ledeux!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.