GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,872 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
15 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Fourth Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: How does Duha Menaimon work? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jasper Brood
msg tools
Hello all! New to the game, enjoying it immensely, but im confused by Arborec flagships ability. I got that production happens before the movement, but - which of amount of production value can you use? Do you spend resources as usual?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When using Production, you must always spend resources unless it specifically says otherwise. The production value is telling you how many units can be produced and is totally unrelated to the number of resources spent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aerris wrote:
Hello all! New to the game, enjoying it immensely, but im confused by Arborec flagships ability. I got that production happens before the movement, but - which of amount of production value can you use? Do you spend resources as usual?

DUHA MENAIMON wrote:
After you activate this system, you may produce up to 5 units in this system.

You have to activate the system containing the flagship, and the production takes place before the movement step. For this ability to work, you must give up the chance to move or attack with your flagship for the round (unless you have an ability that can remove the activation token).

The ship does not have a normal PRODUCTION ability, so you cannot use it to produce units at the end of the tactical action like a space dock or Latari Warrior. Instead, the number of units you can produce is limited by the ability.

Whenever any effect lets you "produce", you must pay the normal production costs. When you "produce up to 5 units," that could be 4 fighters and a destroyer (for a total cost of 3 resources) or 2 war suns and 3 dreadnoughts (for a total cost of 39 resources).
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew S.
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hooliganj wrote:
Aerris wrote:
Hello all! New to the game, enjoying it immensely, but im confused by Arborec flagships ability. I got that production happens before the movement, but - which of amount of production value can you use? Do you spend resources as usual?

DUHA MENAIMON wrote:
After you activate this system, you may produce up to 5 units in this system.

You have to activate the system containing the flagship, and the production takes place before the movement step. For this ability to work, you must give up the chance to move or attack with your flagship for the round (unless you have an ability that can remove the activation token).

The ship does not have a normal PRODUCTION ability, so you cannot use it to produce units at the end of the tactical action like a space dock or Latari Warrior. Instead, the number of units you can produce is limited by the ability.

Whenever any effect lets you "produce", you must pay the normal production costs. When you "produce up to 5 units," that could be 4 fighters and a destroyer (for a total cost of 3 resources) or 2 war suns and 3 dreadnoughts (for a total cost of 39 resources).


Heh. Produce 2 Warsuns.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jasper Brood
msg tools
Thank you very much everyone!

Turns out we got production value all wrong, which is why this confused us very much (we thought production value is the max amount of resources you are allowed to spend, not number of units)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.