GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,574 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Soul of the Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Claiming objectives rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
vince Garner
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Can a "this turn" objective be claimed after achieving its requirements? If so there is rarely be a reason to place a die on a "this turn" objective until after meeting it's criteria. Thus the action to take back a die from an objective rarely comes into play. The rare case to place a claim on an unmet objective would be to prevent the Coalition from blocking the objective. However this blocking action is infrequent. Thus the action to remove a die/dice from an objective rarely comes into play. Our house rule is to not allow actions to count towards a "this turn" objective until after the objective is claimed. This leads to interesting decisions as occasional failures of meeting the criteria leave die on the objective. This leads to an actual need and use of the take die back action and further interesting decisions as to the claim.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heath Stockburn
United Kingdom
Burnley
Lancashire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vincegarner wrote:
Can a "this turn" objective be claimed after achieving its requirements? If so there is rarely be a reason to place a die on a "this turn" objective until after meeting it's criteria. Thus the action to take back a die from an objective rarely comes into play. The rare case to place a claim on an unmet objective would be to prevent the Coalition from blocking the objective. However this blocking action is infrequent. Thus the action to remove a die/dice from an objective rarely comes into play. Our house rule is to not allow actions to count towards a "this turn" objective until after the objective is claimed. This leads to interesting decisions as occasional failures of meeting the criteria leave die on the objective. This leads to an actual need and use of the take die back action and further interesting decisions as to the claim.



You may claim (place dice on) an Objective Card before or after you achieve its stated objective. It comes to your play area (if completed) and is therefore scored during the End Phase.

Same answer applies to the Objective Markers.

As long as you are having fun, that is all that matters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Lysaght
msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vince,

We see your strategy and the desire you are trying to achieve. The potential downside is a restriction on your ability to adapt your strategy to gameplay as your turn develops. As Heath said, feel free to play the game how you like in your home, but we crafted the dice sequence mechanic to empower instead of restrict player choice. This way it prevents the disappointment associated with the "loss" of an entire turn with a bad first battle. Thank you again for all of your questions and your support!

Patrick Lysaght
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
vince Garner
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Thank you for your prompt support of a great game. We are having a lot of fun with this accessible asymmetric design!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Lysaght
msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glad to hear it! Remember that the thing we struggle with most as a small company is letting people know about our games. Rating Soul of the Empire on BGG and telling your friends & family about us is huge. Thank you for your continued support!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.