Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sign of the dark omen encounter rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Serge Libert
msg tools
mb
Hello,

We've had an issue with that encounter today.

Text:

every heroes spirit 5+

If passed, gain 25xp and you may use 1 grit to cancel a growind dread card from the top of the stack (or as it is played, this turn)

If failed, add a growing dread card to the top of the stack.


Question:

If passed by 2 players and failed by 1 and say there is 3 growing dread card in the stack already, what can you do?

1) Cancel only the growing dread card the player that failed the test add in the stack?

2) Same as 1 + cancel another card from the stack so 2 GD cancelled?

3) Pay more than 1 grit to cancel all the GD, the one just add to the stack by the failed test and the 3 ones already in it?

4) None of the above as the GD cards in the stack and the one add to the stack by the failed test are not played so no cancel here?

5) Keep the grit for when the GD cards are played, surely at the end of the mission?


What do you think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Gustavel
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmb
Cancelling a GD card includes the ones on the stack but not yet face up, so you are definitely canceling 2 cards.

The way it is worded, each player cannot cancel more than one card. It is spend 1 grit and cancel 1 card, not spend any amount of grit to cancel that many cards.

Honestly, I think whether the one added by the failed roll is eligible to be canceled depends on what order the players decided to make the rolls, but since they are face down anyway, I don't know that it matters.

Regardless, you should end up with 2 GD cards on the stack and 2 that were canceled.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge Libert
msg tools
mb
Yeah but for me there's nothing to cancel as there is no cards played.

The cards in the stack are not played, they are add to the stack.

The GD cards are played when revealed and thus played and thus cancelled.

Otherwise how does the spell from the preacher, intervention works?

Intervention:

10+ faith cost 2

Cancel a Darkness card.

You may spend 1 extra faith to cancel a GD card instead.


So in your statement, the preacher can cancel 1 GD per turn?

Seems OP.

We always played the spell as a reaction to a darkness or GD card being played as in revealed from the stack or from the darkness deck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jee Fu
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maahjin wrote:

So in your statement, the preacher can cancel 1 GD per turn?

Seems OP.
It costs 3 Faith per Turn, and that's IF you manage to make the brutal casting roll. So yeah, you can keep the GD stack bare ... maybe ... but even attempting such a thing guarantees you're not going to be doing much else.

- Jee
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge Libert
msg tools
mb
Inspector Jee wrote:
Maahjin wrote:

So in your statement, the preacher can cancel 1 GD per turn?

Seems OP.
It costs 3 Faith per Turn, and that's IF you manage to make the brutal casting roll. So yeah, you can keep the GD stack bare ... maybe ... but even attempting such a thing guarantees you're not going to be doing much else.

- Jee

Yeah ok but at level 5 with 4 faith and some good stuff for all of us, he can really be doing that and fight.

But ok, if that's the rules, that's the rules.
We just didn't ever play like that, seems to easy.
The game's already seems easy as it is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jee Fu
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maahjin wrote:

We just didn't ever play like that, seems to easy.
The game's already seems easy as it is.
Are you playing with all the Errata and Official FAQ rulings? There are many balance changes that make the game harder. Also, how many expansions do you have? The original Core Sets are definitely "beginner easy mode" and while there are many reasons for that, the ability to cancel GD cards on a 10+ (IMO) every Turn doesn't rank very high among them.

To your point, if you have 4 Faith at Level 5 then at least 1 of 3 things is true:

- you've gotten very lucky on Free Upgrade rolls
- you're specc'ing specifically for +Faith, which means you've gone 3/0/0/1 on your Upgrade Tree
- you're holding a Holy Book.

The first case ... yes, I conceded is kinda overpowered. I've detailed my thoughts on the "2" and "12" results of the Free Upgrade Charts elsewhere. Thankfully they aren't too common.

The second case means that you forwent offensive Upgrades entirely (or enough that it matters), in favor of maximizing support/Faith. I think it's perfectly OK for a Preacher to be "good" at nuking GD cards at Level 5 if they gave up the Wrath/Fanatic Tree (and possibly Fire Brand and Redemptionist) in order to do it.

In the third case you're making a sacrifice on your weapons because you can't put a Dark Stone Grip / Inlay on the Holy Book (because it doesn't have Keyword Hand Weapon AND because a Grip has been errata'ed to taking up 2 Sockets; the Book only has 1), that means you're essentially sacrificing +1 Combat/Re-roll/Damage (and anything else you might find on a much better Melee Weapon) for the extra Faith.

Another thing to consider is that to make this an effective use of your Faith, you will need the Starting Upgrade Missionary or you're only going to succeed that casting roll 1/6th of the time. Since Intervention is a dangerous Sermon, it also means that you're going to be taking _a lot_ of Corruption Hits 2/3rds of the times that you manage succeed and 1/8th of the times that you fail (unless you want to spend yet more Faith). Put another way, the chances that you're going to succeed the Casting Roll are the same as the chances that you're going to take Corruption Hits for even attempting it (whether you succeed or not). Even with a re-roll, you're going to fail this more often than you succeed and you might also take Corruption. And it's still going to cost you at least 2 Faith.

I'm not saying that your dude can't be an effective fighter and also be good at mitigating the GD situation, but you're gimping your offensive capabilities to do so (the severity of which depends on your individual situation). And that's a valid choice. If you chose to instead build your Hero around Cleansing Fire - which has the same Casting Roll and is also Dangerous - you would be able to deal a massive of amount of damage to a large number of Enemies with a similar frequency, and STILL make an Attack (and you would also likely have Holy Strike). Granted you can't use Cleansing Fire while not in a Fight, but it DOES scale with your level (unlike Intervention).

- Jee
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls