GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,638 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Page Quest SEASON 1: Mythical Artifacts» Forums » Rules

Subject: Old Rifle clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris J
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick question about the "old rifle." It says you activate it before the first round of combat, but I'm not totally clear on when that is, as the wording is different in the manual.

So, is the rifle:
A) activated to skip an enemy without rolling for encounter
B) activated after rolling the adventure die and seeing your opponent, but before taking any of the immediate penalties for high level enemies
C) activated after rolling the adventure die and seeing your opponent, but AFTER taking any of the immediate penalties for high level enemies
D) activated after rolling the enemy's die bonus and seeing that the outcome would be bad (by which time you've already activated a die to fight, which is then lost)

My view is it's probably B, but it would be nice to get a clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crazed Survivor
France
flag msg tools
The Orzhov welcome you. Please leave your belongings with the Obzedat. They are not yours anymore.
badge
Hi, I'm a european crested tit, and a very small punk rocker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What does the rifle do?

If it's before the first round, given that combat is just a single round, I'd say do A. Skip everything.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michał Jagodziński
Poland
Gostyń
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
holdmykidney wrote:

A) activated to skip an enemy without rolling for encounter


Yes, skip everything. In manual you have example of fight and Stage I is before when you have to roll the adventure dice.

Quote:
Stage I:

Your character is in a location with an enemy icon
that has +2 modificator. You first roll the adventure die and
you get value of 3, adding the +2 gives you a final value of 5
which you look up on the enemy table on the adventure page.
The enemy you will be facing has a base Attack of 2 and its
Defense is also equal 2.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. Makes sense! Episode 3 great, btw!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.