GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,522 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Northern Pacific» Forums » Rules

Subject: Invest twice? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Long
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the same city have two cubes of the same color?

Just picked up the reprint and the game seems quite clever!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I wondered that also, but I think that the answer is clearly yes.

First, the rules don't say that you can't do it. Usually, with Winsome games, something that the RAW allow is allowed.

Second, the example on page 2 (Example of locomotive placement) show the red player have two cubes in the same city.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Long
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed! Just double checking
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikolas Co
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sure, you're welcome to invest repeatedly in a city as long as the usual limitations are complied with (you have cubes, the city isn't full)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Russell
United States
Dearborn
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you certainly can.

Whether you should or not depends on the circumstances of course. :-)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And whether your opponents will allow it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Seda
United States
Duluth
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Someone correct me if we misinterpreted the rules, but regardless of how many cubes you placed in a city, the number that you receive on track reaching it is still only 1 (or 2 if the cubes include the large cube) in addition to retrieving your placed cubes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct that the rule says, "each player with a cube in that city retrieves the placed cube and another one of their color from the general supply. If an enhanced cube is in the city, the owning player retrieves it and two more cubes of their color from the general supply."

My suspicion is that it was written that way by someone who wasn't considering the possibility of a player having multiple cubes.

The example says, "The red player has two small cubes. He will take those cubes from the board and two from the supply."

That suggests that you get profit independently from each cube.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Seda
United States
Duluth
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gillum wrote:
You are correct that the rule says, "each player with a cube in that city retrieves the placed cube and another one of their color from the general supply. If an enhanced cube is in the city, the owning player retrieves it and two more cubes of their color from the general supply."


Exactly the reason we interpreted that the way we did.

gillum wrote:

The example says, "The red player has two small cubes. He will take those cubes from the board and two from the supply."

That suggests that you get profit independently from each cube.


To tell the truth, we didn't see the example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Russell
United States
Dearborn
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For every cube, you take it back and get another. Two cubes gives you four, etc.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tomrussell wrote:
For every cube, you take it back and get another. Two cubes gives you four, etc.

And, of course, you get one extra when taking back your large cube.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.