GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,364 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Area of effect attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Gush
msg tools
Hi guys,

Been playing Gloomhaven for a while now, I'd like to think I am interpreting the rules correctly - however, the rules don't mention anything about area of effect attacks in regards to selecting the area if you're standing in the area.

For example, the Opposing Strike (Cragheart) card specifically states you need to stand in the grey square, and your attack will hit the red squares.

However, the Cragheart's card, Dirt Tornado. doesn't specifically tell you where to stand - so can you put yourself in one of the red squares. The rule book only states that your allies won't be hit if they're within the targeted area but doesn't mention anything about putting yourself in the area.

Thanks in advance for your time.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alejandro
Costa Rica
flag msg tools
mb
The only requirement for ranged AoEs is that you can target one red square within the range you have. So you can be inside the area without problems or even target the bottom left red hex at range 3 and have the attack extend a bit beyond that (an enemy on the opposite side would be at range 7 in your example).

Just in case all enemies attacked still need to be within LoS, and the attack doesn't go through walls.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rémi Fortin
France
flag msg tools
Hello,

Yes you can put yourself into the area, you don't attack yourself.
Effects that are applied to the area may affect you if it affects all figures, however you are effectively not an ally of yourself so anything targeting enemies and affecting allies doesn't affect you too. It must stay Self or figures in order to affect self.

Another point, be careful about spoilers, you spoiled one class name and one of his ability, you should put in a spoil or edit the post title with the right class icon name.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Sporre
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And you attack with disadvantage if you're targeting someone next to yourself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Steinman wrote:
And you attack with disadvantage if you're targeting someone next to yourself.

This is true if it is a ranged attack (if the ability has the word "range" on it anywhere, with the bow/arrow symbol).

If an AoE attack has a grey hex on the pattern (like Opposing Strike), it is considered a melee attack, which means you aren't disadvantaged when attacking adjacent targets (unless you are disadvantaged from some other reason)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JayJ79 wrote:
Steinman wrote:
And you attack with disadvantage if you're targeting someone next to yourself.

This is true if it is a ranged attack (if the ability has the word "range" on it anywhere, with the bow/arrow symbol).

If an AoE attack has a grey hex on the pattern (like Opposing Strike), it is considered a melee attack, which means you aren't disadvantaged when attacking adjacent targets (unless you are disadvantaged from some other reason)


But in that case you can’t be in the red area, as you need to be on the grey space.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Kanehen
United States
Bothell
WA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, as others have posted, please mark the thread as a spoiler for Three Spears or edit out that specific example and use one from one of the starting classes such as the Cragheart's Dirt Tornado.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.