GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,496 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Abstract Games» Forums » General

Subject: Placement-Capture cycles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
I play games
badge
Seven
mbmbmbmbmb
I’ve been following with great interest the development of Blooms, the thread about the cycles and the new reformulation of the rules.

Thanks to it I’ve decided to give Go a go to become familiar with the rules and the terms of territory, eye, ko and such. So forgive me if the following question sounds naive because I am very new in this field.

I’ve got the impression that, when trying to avoid cycles, some rules are added and very often the placement rule suffers from a modification or and exception like: ‘you should not place the stone here’.

I was wondering if in those games a modification of the capture rule should work instead. Something along the lines of ‘you should not capture this stone’ or ‘the stone involved in the cycle becomes uncapturable for the rest of the game’.

Do you know about some game that do it this way? Will it work for some other established games?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
christian freeling
Netherlands
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb

It made me aware of a notion that cycles in movement games and in placement games differ. Also of a notion that it would maybe be a good idea for an essay of sorts about the differences (I'm not sure if these can be put in a general context) and the ways to handle them, not so much as a player but from a design point of view.
Blooms has a new kind of somewhat exotic cycles. Nick and Luis' fundamentally new way of treating them raises the question if such a way is possible in other and particularly already existing games that have cycles.