Recommend
27 
 Thumb up
 Hide
151 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [7] | 

Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Official FAQ for Forgotten Circles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: diviner [+] [View All]
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Introduction (Copy pasta from Alex Florin)

This is the official FAQ for all Forgotten Circles related issues and questions.

IMPORTANT: Please limit discussions in this thread to requests for clarifications, improvements and corrections to existing entries and to requests for new entries. If you have a question that you feel is not covered in this FAQ or in the rule book, please create another thread in the Rules forum, preferably with just one question (or related questions) per thread. If it turns out that it is not covered by the rules or either FAQ, go ahead and post a comment on this thread to request its inclusion. I'm subscribed to the entire forum so hopefully I will see it and do it myself but feel free to do so ahead of me (or if I miss it).

The FAQ is organized into sections to improve readability. Also, CTRL-F helps you to find specific keywords. Entries covering monsters, locked classes, items and some scenarios are covered in spoilers sections. It is suggested that you read over those sections when you reach a point in the game where you encounter them.

Important errata is marked in red.


Expansion
General informations
When will the expansion be available in retail?
Retail of Forgotten Circles is sceduled for around July 2019 worldwide.

Will there be a german version of forgotten circles?
Yes, Feuerland Spiele already agreed to publishing a german version. It will probably be available in fall 2019. Translation work is already finished for it.

Campaign information
Do you have to finish the original campaign before playing Forgotten Circles. Or can I add all the new content into the original campaign?
The diviner is unlocked once you open the expansion box and you can use the new class however you like, but the new campaign is intended to be played after finishing the original campaign.
Specifically you should complete the following scenario:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Scenario 51.


Is it possible to start Forgotten Circles with the party that ended the main campaign or do you need to create a new party & characters?
It is intended that you continue with the same party, though it is not a requirement.

How does the Diviner character created at the start of FC work with lineage?
It is the same as any other character, it's just there is a specific time that it needs to be created. But if for example the player creating it has 3 retired characters, they would get three perks.

Is Forgotten Circles part of the main campaign (mode)?
Yes, Forgotten Circles is an extension of the campaign mode, thus you can do all regular town actions as usual.

Components
Will there be new personal quests included?
No, the expansion storyline is the "personal quest" of the Diviner class.

Is there a character model and standee for the Diviner in the expansion?
Yes, both a character model and a standee is included in the expansion.

Will there be a solo mission and a solo item for the Diviner?
Yes.

Will there be new random dungeon cards featuring the new monsters?
Yes, there are two new random dungeon cards featuring the new monsters, you can simply add these to the pool of available random dugeon cards.

Will there be a removable sticker set for Forgotten Circles by Sinister Fish games?
You can order them here.

Achievement Stickers
The sticker ‘Peril Adverted’ is incorrect and misspelled, It should read ‘Peril Averted’.

Do you add the new event cards to their respective decks immediately?
No, the campaign will instruct you, when to add these new event cards to their respective decks.

Do you add the new unlock event cards of the diviner to their respective decks immediately? / Do you add the retirement events of the diviner to their respective decks once she fullfills a regular lifegoal in the normal campaign?
Do not add the unlock (city/road) events of the diviner right away into their respective decks. Once you delve into the new campaign, you will be instructed to create a new diviner character - then add these unlock events. Same applies to the retirement (city/road) events, only add these events once the new campaign comes to a conclusion and you are instructed to retire the diviner, then add these retirement events.

Are the Aesther Scouts missing monster action cards?
No, Aesther Scouts use the Scout deck, just like Bandit Guards and Inox Guards use the Guard deck.

Diviner Abilities

Can Regenerate be enhanced onto other abilities and how much would that cost?
Regenerate can be added to every main ability line that targets self or allies and costs 50 gold to be added (double for multitarget abilities).

Rift Tokens

Are flying enemies affected by the effects of rifts?
Yes.

Can a hex contain more than one Rift token?
No.

Are hexes containing a Rift token considered empty?
No.

If placing a sixth Rift and being forced to remove one, can the sixth be placed into the same Hex as the one removed?
Yes. First you remove any rift token of your choice from the map, then you place a new one.

Can the Diviner be affected by rift token abilities that mention "ally" as their target?
No.

Do Monster try to avoid rift tokens similar to traps or dangerous terrain?
Rift tokens do not count as negative hexes for monsters, so they do not try to avoid them.

Can a Rift token be placed on a hex containing an obstacle, any other overlay tile, a coin, or similar?
Yes, Rifts can be placed on unoccupied hexes.

Rift placement specifies "unoccupied hexes" allowing them to be placed on (amongst other things) traps. Is there a specific order to resolve Rift and Trap effects?
Players Choice.

For Rifts that trigger on a monster entering them - when a monster starts their turn on a previously placed Rift that has some effect active, or a monster is on a Rift when a rift card is played, does this trigger the Rift effect?
No, the effects will trigger only if a monster enters the rift token.

What happen when two enemies move through the same rift token during the same round?
Rift tokens can be activated by multiple monsters in the same round, but if a rift token inflicts a negative status effect that causes the monster to stop on top of a rift token, then the other monster follows the same rule as for traps: A figure cannot end their movement in the same hex as another figure so treat the monster on top of the rift token as an obstacle when determining a monster’s movement.

Teleport

Does teleport require line of sight?
No. You can even trace teleport abilities through walls. A figure cannot teleport into an unrevealed room, but you can teleport through a closed door into a revealed room (This requires scenarios with doors which close or rooms which may be revealed by more than one door).

Can you teleport onto a closed door, thus revealing the previously hidden room without entering it?
Yes.

Can you teleport when there are no hexes (or there are broken hexes) between two revealed rooms?
Yes, for teleport, you can count through wall hexes towards a hex that is within a revealed room and within range of the ability (No hexes are counted as wall hexes).

Can you teleport on top of an obstacle if you are flying / can you force an flying enemy to teleport on top of an obstacle?
Yes, that would be a valid hex for that figure to occupy.


Some teleport abilities have enhancement spots. How can you enhance them and for how much?
Teleport can be enhanced with +1 stickers and it costs 40 gold.

Revealing Decks

When abilities that require a number of cards to be revealed from a deck are applied to decks that don't contain enough cards, how is that handled? Are the discard piles shuffled and then revealed as you would for drawing cards?
Nothing instructs you to shuffle the discard pile into the deck. You only reveal a number of cards equal to the number of remaining cards of the deck.

Cards


Level 1 and X
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Peer into Battle (Card 574):
Does the "Affect all allies" apply to the Heal only, or both the Heal and the Regenerate?
Regenerate is a sub-line ability to the heal, so it modifies the heal with the positive condition regenerate and affects the same targets as the heal.

Protective Aura (Card 576):
Would it be fair to place them face up and review them on demand to prevent it becoming a memory test, or was this the intention of the mechanic?
Players decide if they want to place the revealed cards facedown or faceup. The original intend was facedown.

Clairvoyance (Card 577):
Does this apply to monsters that are not currently on the map, and for the cards to remain revealed for e.g. new monster types in upcoming rooms?
No. The bottom action can only be used to reveal and alter the decks of monsters with figures that are currently on the map.

Cursed Ground (Card 582):
When using Cursed Ground, if a monster moves through two rifts, do they gain two curses?
yes.

Bad Omen (Card 583):
Is the movement of the Rift subject to the same restrictions on placement as other Rift placing abilities (i.e only unoccupied hexes)?
The hexes traversed by the rift are not restricted.

Is this movement affected by any obstacles, enemies or other tile effects along the movement path?
No.

When moving Rift tokens, do you follow normal movement rules? I.e they cannot move through walls & obstacles, difficult terrain costs 2 move, etc?
Rifts are not figures, thus are unhindered by any terrain, you simply move them 2 hexes. Moving them through walls I never considered, but I do not see any reason why to not allow it, it fits thematically and makes them a bit more flexible.


If you use the bottom action while Rifts are empowered (say, with the top of Cursed Ground), do monsters that the Rift moves through count as “entering” a hex containing the Rift (the monster is not moving, but the Rift is)?

No.

Inspiration from Beyond (Card 584):
When using Inspiration from Beyond, it’s clear from the card that allies cannot move into and out of the same rift more than once to gain its benefits. If they move through two rifts, do they gain two blesses?
Inspiration from Beyond gives 1 blessing per round per character.


Level 2
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Revitalising Fount (Card 586):
Can the Pull action move the enemy into the hex containing the Rift?
Yes.



Level 4
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Preordain the Path (Card 588):
When enhancing "Preordain the Path" if you add an "any element" enhancement to the move 2 top action does this mean that each ally that uses the move will be able to create their own unique and different element or will all allies create same element as the first one chosen?
The Diviner chooses a single element to infuse.


Level 5
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Seal their Fate (Card 592):
If an enemy is muddled and draws two negative cards on their attack, do they suffer 1 or 2 damage?
2 damage, 1 for each negative card drawn.


Level 7
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Curative Flux (Card 586):
Does "Affect self and all allies" apply to both the Heal and the Regenerate, or just the Heal?
Regenerate is a sub-line ability to the heal, so it modifies the heal with the positive condition regenerate and affects the same targets as the heal.

Aether Vortex (Card 587):
Is the attack on the top half of this card supposed to be Range or Melee?

Similar to Inferno, it is a melee attack, as it does not mention range.

Aether Vortex (Card 587):
When moving Rift tokens, do you follow normal movement rules? I.e they cannot move through walls & obstacles, difficult terrain costs 2 move, etc?
Rifts are not figures, thus are unhindered by any terrain, you simply move them 2 hexes. Moving them through walls I never considered, but I do not see any reason why to not allow it, it fits thematically and makes them a bit more flexible.


Level 9
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Hand of Destiny (Card 586):
This requires searching ability decks, but doesn't specify that we must then shuffle the deck, allowing us to know the order of the cards in the whole deck. Is this intended? If so, can we consider them revealed and review them whenever we like?
Shuffle the deck after searching it.

Planar Fissure (Card 587):
Is the attack on the top half of this card supposed to be range or melee?

Similar to Clear the Way, it is a ranged attack, as it does mention range.


Items
2013
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Elemental Claymore - A single icon cannot be used to consume more than one infusion.


Scenarios

If you find some particular scenarios too challenging, you can use the following variant:
The diviner may exhaust in all scenarios except scenario #115

#96 (page 5), there is a printing error in the special rules:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The special rules should read
"Starting from the fourth round, at the end of every round, one demon spawns adjacent to a portal, in the order of (A) (Frost Demons), (B) (Flame Demons), C (Earth Demons), repeat.


#98, section #32 (page 36) - hot coals overlays
Replace a single hot coals hex overlay with a double hot coals hex overlay. A misscount of overlay tiles leads to a shortage of single hot coals hexes here.

#101 (page 10), there is a problem with the overlay tiles.
The single stone floor tile next to (a) should be a double stone floor overlay tile.

#102 (page 11), there is a problem with the overlay tiles.
The southern shelf overlay tile next to (b) should be a table overlay tile.

#113 (page 22), there is a problem with the section links, the last two should read as follows. (the links are swapped)
L2a, read section 30 on page 35.
L3b, read section 108 on page 59.


#114 (page 23), there is a problem with the overlay tiles.
Replace the leftmost table with a shelf. Replace the bottom wooden floor with a Stone Pillar.

Section 103, page 58, there is a problem with the overlay tiles.
Replace the two thorns - dangerous terrain overlay tiles with two water - difficult terrain overlay tiles.

Events

Rift event #8
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The spawned bandit guard from the event, how does he treat allies of the characters?
Any ally for you would also be an ally for the guard.


Rift event #11
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Is there any particular order in which you have to check the boxes on outcome b?
Your choice.


Monster AI reference
Sadly some small errors managed to sneak past the last round of edits.

The picture in section 2 should have the attack icon on top of the Cragheart instead of the Brute.

Pictures 3.5. and 3.6. should list move 2 not move 1.
26 
 Thumb up
2.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Lopuszanski
United States
Windham
Connecticut
flag msg tools
So hear me roar! RAWR! (Or ask me about it)
badge
Her Serenity, The Lady of Pain.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Morthai wrote:


Teleport

Does teleport require line of sight?
No. You can even trace teleport abilities through walls.


Can you teleport through closed doors? I would assume not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stexe wrote:
Morthai wrote:


Teleport

Does teleport require line of sight?
No. You can even trace teleport abilities through walls.


Can you teleport through closed doors? I would assume not.


Teleport is an ability that transports a figure to a specific location without evaluating moving through all the hexes between where the figure currently is and where it is going. However, it is not considered a Move ability (and thus can be performed while the figure has IMMOBILIZE).

It is also not inhibited by enemies, walls, obstacles, or any type of terrain when evaluating its path. The hex a figure teleports to must be a valid hex for that figure to occupy, and any effects of entering that hex will trigger normally, such as traps, hazardous terrain, or special character abilities. A figure cannot teleport into an unrevealed room.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glen Blosser
msg tools
mbmbmb
Can you teleport onto a closed door, thus revealing the previously hidden room without entering it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Brooks
United Kingdom
Rugby
Warwickshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stexe wrote:

Can you teleport through closed doors? I would assume not.


You can teleport through a closed door into a revealed room. This requires scenarios with doors which close or rooms which may be revealed by more than one door.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernard
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Hi Marcel, it was nice talking to you at Spiel! Thanks for creating this FAQ.

I have a small correction on terminology: "personal goal" should be "personal quest".
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Ender
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for this, Morthai! You forgot to close the spoiler block for the level 1 cards, so the level 2 cards slipped into that.

Also, for the spoiler block in the "original campaign" question, it might be good to give a hint as to what's inside.

And will the FC rule book contain a section on enhancements (for Teleport and Regenerate) or is it just the page Isaac uploaded for Infinite Beyond? If it's the latter, you might want to include answers to the questions that came up in the IB1 thread.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
i.e. just put the scenario number inside, and before that say something like "Specifically you should complete the following scenario:".


Kaza42 wrote:
Can you teleport onto a closed door, thus revealing the previously hidden room without entering it?

I think, as in the main game FAQ thread, actual rules questions should go in separate threads, leaving this thread for discussion about the FAQ itself or for links to those separate threads to request them to be added to the FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kaza42 wrote:
Can you teleport onto a closed door, thus revealing the previously hidden room without entering it?

yes
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
m_ender wrote:

And will the FC rule book contain a section on enhancements (for Teleport and Regenerate) or is it just the page Isaac uploaded for Infinite Beyond?

yes, I believe Isaac has added an enhancement page for Teleport and Regenerate.
Regenerate can be similary enhanced like bless and strengthen, while teleport can only be enhanced by a +1 sticker.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle Husak
United States
Kansas City
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
For Diviner card 579
Spoiler (click to reveal)
When it says "One ally within Range 3", does this still require line of sight?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
goodwillhunted wrote:
For Diviner card 579
Spoiler (click to reveal)
When it says "One ally within Range 3", does this still require line of sight?

Abilities with a range value always require line of sight.

page 19 rulebook:
In addition, any ability which specifies a range can only be performed on a figure within line-of-sight. If a non-attack ability does not specify a range, then line-of-sight is not required. Also note that two hexes separated by a wall line are not considered adjacent, and range cannot be counted through walls.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernard
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bernaar wrote:

Hi Marcel, it was nice talking to you at Spiel! Thanks for creating this FAQ.

I have a small correction on terminology: "personal goal" should be "personal quest".


Don't forget to correct the question itself too :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Boo InYourEyes
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Hi! Thanks for designing so many amazing levels!

Quick question: how do you unlock the Diviner? Does the character automatically unlock when the game begins, the way the original 6 classes did?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BooInYourEyes wrote:
Hi! Thanks for designing so many amazing levels!

Quick question: how do you unlock the Diviner? Does the character automatically unlock when the game begins, the way the original 6 classes did?


Morthai wrote:

Do you have to finish the original campaign before playing Forgotten Circles. Or can I add all the new content into the original campaign?
You can use the new class however you like, but the new campaign is intended to be played after finishing the original campaign.
Specifically you should complete the following scenario:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Scenario 51.


So the Diviner unlocks as soon as you open the expansion. So technically if you start a new campaign and have the expansion sitting next to it, you can start the campaign with the diviner. Just be aware, she is not considered a starting class, thus her mechanics might be much more complex than the starting 6.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Gates
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
One important thing I don't see answered....

....is it "DI-vin-er," or "di-VINE-r?"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McCarthy
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LekiLess wrote:
One important thing I don't see answered....

....is it "DI-vin-er," or "di-VINE-r?"


di-VINE-r

https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/diviner
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Baldwin
msg tools
Question on two Level 1 cards:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
When using Cursed Ground, if a monster moves through two rifts, do they gain two curses?


Spoiler (click to reveal)
When using Inspiration from Beyond, it’s clear from the card that allies cannot move into and out of the same rift more than once to gain its benefits. If they move through two rifts, do they gain two blesses?


I had a different read from our table rules guy, and the linguistic parsing is ambiguous (see my explanation on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Gloomhaven/comments/ae0cix/diviner_...).

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jdmbaldwin wrote:
Question on two Level 1 cards:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
When using Cursed Ground, if a monster moves through two rifts, do they gain two curses?

Yes
jdmbaldwin wrote:


Spoiler (click to reveal)
When using Inspiration from Beyond, it’s clear from the card that allies cannot move into and out of the same rift more than once to gain its benefits. If they move through two rifts, do they gain two blesses?


I had a different read from our table rules guy, and the linguistic parsing is ambiguous (see my explanation on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/Gloomhaven/comments/ae0cix/diviner_...).

Thanks!

1 blessing per round per character
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Baldwin
msg tools
Can you teleport when there are no hexes (or there are broken hexes) between two revealed rooms? E.g. scenario 21, between the room with tile "a" and tile "f" there's a gap between the walls. Could the Diviner teleport between these rooms when near the top of the room with "a", assuming both rooms are revealed? (See bottom of linked image: can you teleport across that gap in the middle?)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jdmbaldwin wrote:
Can you teleport when there are no hexes (or there are broken hexes) between two revealed rooms? E.g. scenario 21, between the room with tile "a" and tile "f" there's a gap between the walls. Could the Diviner teleport between these rooms when near the top of the room with "a", assuming both rooms are revealed? (See bottom of linked image: can you teleport across that gap in the middle?)


Teleport
is an ability that transports a figure to a specific location without evaluating moving through all the hexes between where the figure currently is and where it is going. However, it is not considered a Move ability (and thus can be performed while the figure has IMMOBILIZE). It is also not inhibited by enemies, walls, obstacles, or any type of terrain when evaluating its path. The hex a figure teleports to must be a valid hex for that figure to occupy, and any effects of entering that hex will trigger normally, such as traps, hazardous terrain, or special character abilities. A figure cannot teleport into an unrevealed room.

For teleport, you can count through wall hexes towards a hex that is within a revealed room and within range of the ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Baldwin
msg tools
“Empty” has a very specific game meaning, so I just want to be clear: on this image, we could teleport from A to B, across the gap between the boards, essentially creating hexes where no board actually exists to hold them?



Not trying to be obtuse and I appreciate the help. Just not sure if those hexes on the blue path are considered to exist by the game. If they don’t, that’s not a valid path.

C to B on the green path would be valid since walls don’t count.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jdmbaldwin wrote:
“Empty” has a very specific game meaning, so I just want to be clear: on this image, we could teleport from A to B, across the gap between the boards, essentially creating hexes where no board actually exists to hold them?

sorry, wall hexes was the correct phrase, and yes you can count from A to b and from B to c via teleport.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Baldwin
msg tools
That is awesome. Thanks again!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Baldwin
msg tools
Me again.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Bad Omen: if you use the bottom action while Rifts are empowered (say, with the top of Cursed Ground), do monsters that the Rift moves through count as “entering” a hex containing the Rift? The monster is not moving, but the Rift is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis P.
Germany
flag msg tools
Hi,

thanks for this new FAQ :-)

One small question: Are the new Scenarios a part of the campagne?
So that you can donate to the old oak and have road & City Events?

Greetings
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [7] |