Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Raiders of the Deep: U-boats of the Great War, 1914-18» Forums » General

Subject: U boat upgrade question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
michael esposito
United States
morton grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure if this makes too much difference.

I've been playing that you receive the upgrade counter when you get the award; HK, HH, PLM, ect

You accumulate the upgrade counters and then roll the dice to see if you get the upgrade.

This way, you get more chances to upgrade to a particular boat, when its available.

Is this Correct?

Thanks
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Cooper
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Mike,

Per 11.4.3, as soon as you get an award you roll 1d6, and you only get the upgrade token if you roll a 1-3. Once you have the token (which represents an affirmative response to a request for a new boat or a flotilla transfer), you may keep it as long as you want, and use it whenever you want to transfer to a new U-boat or move to a different flotilla.

The goal of the rule is to keep the number of transfers realistically low (between 0 and 4, with an average of two transfers even for very successful commanders).

If players are mirroring the career of a famous ace, they may of course ignore the rule and just go with what the historical ace experienced.

Hope this clarifies the issue.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael esposito
United States
morton grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool. Thanks Ian
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.