Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Warpgate» Forums » Rules

Subject: Official FAQ (no rules questions, please) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The contents of this list are mostly composed of direct developer quotes from Arty and have been double checked by him. If possible, there will be a link to the thread where a ruling was first made. If you feel the need to discuss a ruling found in the FAQ, follow that link and discuss it there.

This thread is only here to document all rulings and clarifications. I ask you to refrain from asking, answering and discussing rules questions. Any feedback regarding the FAQs and requests to add information are very welcome, though.

English isn't my native tongue. If you catch typos, odd wordings or grammatical errors, please feel free to let me know.

Navigation

Click on each section to go there. You'll also find a link in each section that will bring you back to the top. Alternately, you can use the search (ctrl+f on PC) and enter the number of the section you want to see.

00 Navigation
01 Errata & Clarifications
02 Game Setup & Components
03 Gameplay
04 Official Variants
05 Miscellaneous
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Inofficial FAQ (no rules questions, please)
back to top
01Errata & Clarifications

Game Setup & Components

Faction Boards
When using the Elenari Free Worlds' "Perfect Infiltrators" faction ability, the planet the research drone moves to must still match the color of an available technology.
Source
"Tethysian Tradeworlds" should have the C battle tactic highlighted instead of E. This means Guildmaster Oozh should replace Pitched Battle.
Source

Technologies
Any Technology affecting actions triggers once per action. Orbital Shipyards will allow a reinforce played on 3X to place four ships instead of three.

Advanced Tactics
Citizen N does not alter the turn order. If it's turn 3, and you've previously picked up the cards on slots 1X and 2X, you still play your card to the 3X slot.

Gameplay

Attack
Any effects influencing a battle must be announced before tactics are revealed.

Move
Your warpgate counts as a planet. Enemy Warpgates do not.
Source

Deploy
Your warpgate counts as a planet. You may use Reinforce actions on it as long as there as at least one ship there.
Source

Gameplay

Move
Your warpgate counts as a planet. Enemy Warpgates do not.
Source

Official Variants

Solo Game
If the rules refer to a player, it always means the actual player, not the AI.
Source
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Inofficial FAQ (no rules questions, please)
back to top
02Game Setup & Components

Map tiles
What do the letters on the side of the map tiles mean?
Map tiles with the same letters share their layout. You can use theme to make "mirror match" layouts that are more balanced.
Source

Faction boards
Can Heralds Of The Void use their Extradimensional Invaders power on their own outposts/colonies?
Yes, as long no enemy ships are there.
What happens if I perform a draw action with the Overseers Of Kerak?
You draw 1-4 cards for your action, then it's the end of your turn, and Unpredictable Machines resolves, making you discard your hand (including the freshly drawn cards) and draw two new cards.
Source

Advanced Tactics
What happens if Ack'Tar Ascenders copies Grizzled Nomads?
All Ack'Tar outposts are instantly treated as ships. On planets with hostile ships and an Ack'Tar outpost, the outpost is exchanged for a ship, which retreats to the nearest friendly or neutral planet as if it had lost a combat. If the Ack'tar player has no ship to convert the outpost to, the outpost is simply removed.
Source 1 Source 2
What happens if one side is reduced to 0 ships when Prolonged Engagement was played?
You still perform the additional battle, with the selected tactic being multiplied by 0 (your amount of ships).
Is the AI board a viable target for Ack'Tar Ascenders?
Nope.
Source
Is Ack'Tar Ascenders permanent?
Yep.
Source
How are contradicting tactics cards treated, such as Change of Plans revealing Adaptive Strategy?
The attacker's card is resolved first. Then the defender's effect is resolved. Effects aren't retroactively countered.
For the example at hand:
1. Change of Plans forces the defender to resolve their top card instead of the one played. The top card is revealed as Adaptive Strategy.
2. AS copies CoP and replaces it with the next card.
3. The attacker's next card is resolved.
Source

Objectives
What happens if the initial objectives from setup have the same color?
Nothing. If they are still the same color at the end of the first round, an additional card is added.
Source

Technologies
What happens if the initial technologies from setup have the same color?
Nothing. If they are still the same color at the end of the first round, an additional card is added.
Source
What happens if the drone is on a planet with enemy ships when Combat Drones activates?
The drone immediately retreats to the nearest friendly or neutral planet, as if it had lost a combat.
Source 1 Source 2
What actions does Fighter Bays work on?
Any actions that use the "move" keyword, including: Recon, Maneuver, Skirmish and Trade.
Source
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Inofficial FAQ (no rules questions, please)
back to top
03Gameplay

General

What happens if two effects are triggered at the same time?
The effects of the active player are resolved first. Note that this ruling refers to technologies and racial abilities. Battles are still resolved as described in the rulebook.
Source

Actions
Attack
A battle has a combination of ships, Grizzled Nomads' outpost ships and/or Combat Drones involved, who decides what is destroyed?
The player who owns the destroy effect.
Source
I lose a battle for a planet my research drone is at. Does the drone retreat?
No. The drone only considers planet control when it moves to a planet or when it's a Combat Drone (because it also counts as a ship).
Source


Control
How does control interact with single-planet systems?
The single planet counts as "every planet in the system". The outpost is instantly upgraded to a colony and you may draw an objective, if one is viable.
Source


Draw
What happens if I perform a draw action with the Overseers Of Kerak?
You draw 1-4 cards for your action, then it's the end of your turn, and Unpredictable Machines resolves, making you discard your hand (including the freshly drawn cards) and draw two new cards.
Source
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Inofficial FAQ (no rules questions, please)
back to top
04Official Variants

Exploration
Where can I find the exploration rules?
Right here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Inofficial FAQ (no rules questions, please)
back to top
05Miscellaneous

Mirror Map
While technically not an official variant, you should know that you can create balanced maps with mirroring layouts by referencing the letters on the side of the map tiles. Tiles with the same letter share the same layout.
Source
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls