Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Hitler's Reich» Forums » General

Subject: Blitzkrieg and Hand Size rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Stevens
United States
Twin Falls
Idaho
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry if I’m repeating a prior question. When making a blitzkrieg attack, the player has to move the hand size marker down by one per attack (unless avoided through a card, etc). When this happens, does the player also discard a card at that time so that the hand matches the new hand size? My opinion is “yes” but wanted to confirm. The only other option I can see is to not draw at cleanup but that doesn’t feel right.

Assuming one discards, is it by choice or random?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Schachter
United States
Matthews
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Hi Mark,

This is a similar question to a prior one you posed.

The question seems to be WHEN you're considering the Axis Hand reduced. If it is at the instant the Blitzkrieg Attack is announced, before the Axis player selects a Conflict Card out of his Hand, you'd be right... a Card of the Axis Player' choice would have to be discarded.

However, that would mean TWO Cards are being removed from the Axis Hand due to a single Action... the Discard due to the Blitzkrieg Attack's Hand Reduction of one and the Axis Card being played to resolve the Blitzkrieg Land Conflict itself.

That's not the rule's intent and, sigh, you've uncovered another instance of poor Rule Book editing and/or a key rule not being adequately explained, since the Play Book's example of a Blitzkrieg Attack, Section 16.1.4 (Pg. 19) shows there is no discard out of The Axis Player's Hand for simply declaring a Blitzkrieg Attack.

The Play Book's example (Pg 20), during CLEAN UP, states: "Each player now draws the top card from their deck to replenish his hand." That's incorrect and you've uncovered need for another piece of clarifying errata.

Your errata for Rule 7.8, posted within HITLER'S REICH CSW site, should read, with new text IN ALL CAPITAL LETERS ... "7.8 Cleanup (omitted in the rules, see Playbook) Each size draws a card(s) up to his/her handsize. IF A BLITZKRIEG WAS LAUNCHED, NO NEED TO DRAW A CARD SINCE THE CONFLICT CARD JUST PLAYED TO RESOLVE THE LAND CONFLICT PUT THE ATTACKING PLAYER’S HAND IN BALANCE."

Hopefully, the preceding, when included in the HITLER'S REICH Rule Book Redux, shall prevent this misunderstanding.

Thanks for your help!

Hopefully, this clarifies this matter.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.