Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Sagrada» Forums » Rules

Subject: drafting a die but not using it rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Danner

Oregon
msg tools
Question: can I draft a die from the pool and then set it aside (i.e, out of play) because I can't place it anywhere in my window? I'm wondering, because sometimes none of the dice in the draft pool match what I need on my player board, and it would be to my advantage to remove one of the dice so as to rob my player of a die they might need. Or, do I simply have to skip my turn without taking an action?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin DeOlden
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
badge
Twilight Imperium 3rd - Forever
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not in the normal rules.

My group does play with it as a house rule as it makes the game strategic in that if there is nothing you can do you still can hate draft a die out and it goes back into the bag. That way you have no wasted turns.

I wish they would add this back as an official variant in one of the upcoming expansions as I think it makes it a better games to always take out your 2 dice whether you can use them or not.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Yates
United States
Olsburg
Kansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You could always bend the rules slightly and draft a die to knowingly place it incorrectly in your grid with the intent of discarding it after placement.

That is actually using the rules as printed to your advantage.

Quote:
Dice Placement Mistakes
If a Player’s Window is ever found to break any of the placement
restrictions, that player must immediately remove dice (of their
choice) from their Window until all restrictions are obeyed. These
dice are out of play and any resulting open spaces will count
against their score as normal.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Cox
United Kingdom
Bicester
flag msg tools
BOO!
badge
I do really love fun!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding of the rules were that you can only take a dice that you can place. I don't have them in front of me but that is how I have always played. Being a light drafting game I feel hate drafting is out of place.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Vande Ven Jr.
United States
Verona
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Remain me to never play with you guys...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Monsen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
according to this thread in which the designer chimed in:

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1766512/can-player-draf...

the original rule (and the one they play by) was that you can draft and discard, but the official published rule was that you can't.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josiah Fiscus
United States
Pittsburgh (Monroeville)
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Draft and discard makes more sense for a few reasons, despite the rules as written:

-The potential for abuse mentioned above with the "oops, I accidentally took it and didn't notice it didn't fit" thing

-The fact that you end up with more than one leftover die, which makes the round tracking confusing

-The additional leftovers also make the Lens Cutter work strangely
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin DeOlden
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
badge
Twilight Imperium 3rd - Forever
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MunchWolf wrote:
according to this thread in which the designer chimed in:

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1766512/can-player-draf...

the original rule (and the one they play by) was that you can draft and discard, but the official published rule was that you can't.


This is definitely what we do as well.
I would really like to see it published in a future expansion as an official variant you can choose to add.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.