Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Santorini» Forums » Rules

Subject: Chaos always won.... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mathias Fiedler
Austria
flag msg tools
I played 2 games with chaos with my wife.
One time she played chaos and one time I played as him.

BOTH times the game ended with the opposing player building a dome and chaos drawing card on the start of his new turn.

both times we drew Pan
and just jumped down immediately.

The game just ended anti-climatically and there was nothing the other player could do.

Is Pan overpowering in the Chaos deck? or are we making a mistake


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Beiter
United States
Tonawanda
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BarbarianHeroquest wrote:
I played 2 games with chaos with my wife.
One time she played chaos and one time I played as him.

BOTH times the game ended with the opposing player building a dome and chaos drawing card on the start of his new turn.

both times we drew Pan
and just jumped down immediately.

The game just ended anti-climatically and there was nothing the other player could do.

Is Pan overpowering in the Chaos deck? or are we making a mistake




One of the threats is Pan, but that should not happen often.

I think that was just a case of unlucky shuffling.
2 back to back games is not enough to proove it is overpowered or unbalanced.

You may play several games in a row where Pan never shows up.

It's all in the luck of the shuffle.
Hence the name: Chaos.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Van Biesbrouck
Canada
St Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chaos isn't my sort of power. However,

* he is balanced overall if you consider Pan as a possibility
* if you remove Pan from Chaos' deck, it doesn't change Chaos' strength against a prepared opponent
* there are lots of ways that Chaos' new power can be horrible for his opponent; the worse it is (Pan winning), the more memorable it will be

Previous thread: Why Chaos?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Odd. We’ve only played Chaos once each.. but he lost both.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's almost as if only two plays is not enough from which to draw a statistically valid conclusion!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Van Biesbrouck
Canada
St Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Speaking from experience, 20 plays as first and second player against each a single power still has a margin of error. Aggregated over all opposing powers you can get a good idea whether the power is too strong or weak. (This only applies against an equally-skilled opponent, of course.) Those of you with access to the app can benefit from this sort of experiment -- tweaked powers and a balanced match selector.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mathias Fiedler
Austria
flag msg tools
Of course I did not mean to say that the power is broken

I posted because I was not sure if I am doing it right

it felt so anti-climatic and felt so sudden - as if we did something wrong.
you turned over the next car and won
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.