Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Dice Throne: Season Two – Battle Chest» Forums » Rules

Subject: When can defensive rolls be used? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
SirMaoh S.
msg tools
Hi everyone

Just did our first Dice Throne game (barbarian vs samurai) and we really like it so far! There's one major thing that isn't really clear to us.

Is a character allowed to use his defensive ability EVERY time he receives damage (that is not undefendable dmg (by text or by a red damage symbol))? This question came up on the "back strike" ability of the samurai.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ty Arnold
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Avatar
You get a defensive roll after your opponent's Offensive Roll Phase results in an attack that would deal normal damage to you, and at no other point.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lam
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello, my son and I played 4games yesterday of season 1. He kept bringing up the “undefendable” keyword it’s a little confusing. The “undefendable” keyword does not apply to the defensive roll. The defensive roll occurs each time your opponent makes an offensive roll against you. The “undefendable” keyword applies to any status effect or card you can play to mitigate damage. At least that’s the way we play it, and it’s a nicely balanced fun game we are enjoying a lot.

Hope that helps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SirMaoh S.
msg tools
Okay, that makes everything pretty clear. Thanks for that clarification
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pieter Schutz
Netherlands
De Meern
Utrecht
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hakka Games wrote:
He kept bringing up the “undefendable” keyword it’s a little confusing. The “undefendable” keyword does not apply to the defensive roll. The defensive roll occurs each time your opponent makes an offensive roll against you. The “undefendable” keyword applies to any status effect or card you can play to mitigate damage. At least that’s the way we play it, and it’s a nicely balanced fun game we are enjoying a lot.


Unfortunately, this is not correct. See the official rules. The only type of damage you can defend (E.G. use your defensive ability for) is normal damage. Undefendable damage can not be defended, and thus you can;t roll for it.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pieter Schutz
Netherlands
De Meern
Utrecht
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SirMaoh wrote:
This question came up on the "back strike" ability of the samurai.


So to answer this question, no you can't use your defensive roll against the samurai's backstrike.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lam
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pieterschutz wrote:
Hakka Games wrote:
He kept bringing up the “undefendable” keyword it’s a little confusing. The “undefendable” keyword does not apply to the defensive roll. The defensive roll occurs each time your opponent makes an offensive roll against you. The “undefendable” keyword applies to any status effect or card you can play to mitigate damage. At least that’s the way we play it, and it’s a nicely balanced fun game we are enjoying a lot.


Unfortunately, this is not correct. See the official rules. The only type of damage you can defend (E.G. use your defensive ability for) is normal damage. Undefendable damage can not be defended, and thus you can;t roll for it.


My son is going to be happy about this......means he probably would have defeated dad 2 out of 3 games lol. Thank you for the clarification.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel S
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Yes, Tom. The only type of damage you can't use status tokens on is Collateral.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SirMaoh S.
msg tools
Another question regarding this matter came up while playing the huntress. If the huntress attacks with "4 undefendable damage + 2 normal damage from the cat", how is this handled?
We did a defense roll for the 2 normal damage and inflicted the undefendable damage right away. is this the correct way of doing it?

Bonus question 1: If I allocate 9 damage to the cat (5 hp), the "overkill" damage expires, right?

Bonus question 2: Could both damage types (4+2) have been blocked by "not this time"?

Bonus question 3: Can "not this time" reduce any damage, even ultimate damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pieter Schutz
Netherlands
De Meern
Utrecht
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SirMaoh wrote:
Another question regarding this matter came up while playing the huntress. If the huntress attacks with "4 undefendable damage + 2 normal damage from the cat", how is this handled?
We did a defense roll for the 2 normal damage and inflicted the undefendable damage right away. is this the correct way of doing it?

No it's not. The modified damage is of the same type as the primary damage. So in this case it would be 6 undefendable damage

SirMaoh wrote:
Bonus question 1: If I allocate 9 damage to the cat (5 hp), the "overkill" damage expires, right?

yup. Nyra absorbs all damage and is downed

SirMaoh wrote:
Bonus question 2: Could both damage types (4+2) have been blocked by "not this time"?

I don;t have the card at hand, but IIRC it says prevent 6 damage right? Then yes. It can be used. See the Official rules under the heading damage types. t will show you that undefendable damage is still avoidable (by preventing it or using a token like evasive or flight)

SirMaoh wrote:
Bonus question 3: Can "not this time" reduce any damage, even ultimate damage?

Same section as mentioned above shows you no. Ultimate damage can not be stopped or prevented or avoided in any way.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
SirMaoh S.
msg tools
Thank you very much Pieter,

we've read the official rule part multiple times, but all of this wasn't clear enough to us. Thanks a lot
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick May
United States
Pinellas Park
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hakka Games wrote:
Hello, my son and I played 4games yesterday of season 1. He kept bringing up the “undefendable” keyword it’s a little confusing. The “undefendable” keyword does not apply to the defensive roll. The defensive roll occurs each time your opponent makes an offensive roll against you. The “undefendable” keyword applies to any status effect or card you can play to mitigate damage. At least that’s the way we play it, and it’s a nicely balanced fun game we are enjoying a lot.

Hope that helps.


Small clarification on what's already been said. Undefendable damage ONLY means you cannot roll your Defensive ability. You can still play cards and status effect tokens against Undefendable damage. Exception to that rule is of course an Ultimate which cannot be prevented by any means (but then again, Ultimate damage is it's only type of damage and not synonymous with Undefendable

#RulesLawyer
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.