Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Tunisia II» Forums » Rules

Subject: What happens to the defending aircraft after a Fighter Sweep rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gordon G
United States
Bossier City
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a defending aircraft wins Air Combat during a Fighter Sweep, does it go inactive?

Para 14.1c lists the only type of aircraft that can remain active, post mission, as successful Interceptors and Base Transfers. Since Fighter Sweeps aren't subject to interception, neither of the two categories identified in para 14.1c apply and the winning defender goes inactive. Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn Hansson
Sweden
Bromma
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Forza Vale!
badge
The world is full of kings and queens, who blind your eyes and steal your dreams.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GordoMG wrote:
If a defending aircraft wins Air Combat during a Fighter Sweep, does it go inactive?

Para 14.1c lists the only type of aircraft that can remain active, post mission, as successful Interceptors and Base Transfers. Since Fighter Sweeps aren't subject to interception, neither of the two categories identified in para 14.1c apply and the winning defender goes inactive. Correct?


Defending against a fighter sweep is not a mission, so the defender stays active.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Hunter
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
To approach the Other in conversation is to welcome his expression, in which at each instant he overflows the idea a thought would carry away from it. It is therefore to receive from the Other beyond the capacity of the I...
badge
To approach the Other in conversation is to welcome his expression, in which at each instant he overflows the idea a thought would carry away from it. It is therefore to receive from the Other beyond the capacity of the I...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GordoMG wrote:
If a defending aircraft wins Air Combat during a Fighter Sweep, does it go inactive?

Para 14.1c lists the only type of aircraft that can remain active, post mission, as successful Interceptors and Base Transfers. Since Fighter Sweeps aren't subject to interception, neither of the two categories identified in para 14.1c apply and the winning defender goes inactive. Correct?


I think you may be misreading 14.1c

It states:

Quote:
14.1c Aborts & Return to Base. Air
units that execute a mission (see 14.2f)
or “abort” from air combat must return
to a friendly air base within their range
and become Inactive. (Exceptions:Fighter remains Active after completing
a successful Interception (14.5), and
after a Base Transfer (14.11) done at
normal range.)
• Aircraft that abort before/during an
qAir Combat over a friendly air base
must return to that base. (Excep-
tion: see 14.5 for special handling
of Interceptors.)


This section only applies to aircraft on a mission or those that abort, as Bjorn has said. That is clear from the plain meaning of the text.

The exception is clearly an exception to the aforestated rule that applies only to aircraft on a mission or those that abort. A aircraft that is being targeted by a Fighter Sweep is not on a mission and equally if it doesn't abort, it is not an aborting aircraft. Therefore, this rule doesn't apply, ie it doesn't go inactive.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.