Mage Knight: Ultimate Edition» Forums » General

Subject: How much do expansions alter the base game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom G
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
So I'm relatively new to boardgaming and was watching the Ricky Royal videos on how to play. Game looks pretty cool.

My question is with the expansions, will there be extra cards in the deck when I'm trying to play the base version? I'd like to start on that as I truely figure out how to play.

Basically I'm asking is it adding anything special to the game (other than scenarios and such) to where it would alter the base game other than some extra cards?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David
Australia
Lilydale
Victoria
flag msg tools
mb
If you dont have the game already then the ultimate version is the better buy as it does give you the expansions all in the one box. I believe 2 of Ricky’s play throughs are expansion based.

I pre-ordered ultimate version from my LFGS as it was cheaper than buying core and expansions.

Edit: another thing, everyone watches the Youtube videos to learn the game as everyone says the rulebook sucks.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
mbmbmbmbmb
hepta2502 wrote:
Edit: another thing, everyone watches the Youtube videos to learn the game as everyone says the rulebook sucks.

"Everyone" doesn't include myself, anyone I've played with, or various BGG users that have commented on these forums over the years.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
metony mous
msg tools
mb
Benkyo wrote:
hepta2502 wrote:

"Everyone" doesn't include myself, anyone I've played with, or various BGG users that have commented on these forums over the years.