Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mega Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advanced military / sacking a city. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Brudz
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mb
I assume that in order to receive a card when attacking a city the city must cease to exist. Please see the example below of a defender with advanced military.

Attackers has at least 7 tokens attacking a city.
Defender removes his city and replaces it with 6 tokens.
Combat happens as normal with the defender being able to take casualties from surrounding areas.

If the defender ends combat with 6 tokens on the city cite they are replaced by the original city and the attacker is not rewarded with a card.

If the defender ends with less than 6 tokens the attacker is rewarded with a card.

The city site with 3-5 tokens could still be rebuilt that turn if they used architecture but they would still have to give up a card as in the previous sentence.

Is this accurate?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No.

The defender could build the city again later in the turn. The tokens do not become a city again by default.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Brudz
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mb
That answers part of my question but what about reward of a card. Is a card always rewarded if a city is removed and tokens are put on the board or is there some level of destruction necessary for an attack on a city to be considered "successful"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Brudz
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mb
Some rules reference:
Quote:
4a. All token conflicts are resolved before all city
attacks are resolved. It is preferable to resolve
all token conflicts simultaneously. Any possible
unsuccessful city attacks are not considered
token conflict and these tokens are only removed
during the resolution of city attacks. Any
foreseen surplus population may not be removed
during the Conflict-phase.
4b. Only after all token conflicts have been resolved,
all city attacks must be resolved one at a time,
in A.S.T.-ranking order of the defending players.

Quote:
For each city attack, first define whether the attack is
successful or not. By default, an attack is successful if
the attacker has at least 7 tokens in the area containing
the enemy city. In the case of an unsuccessful attack,
all tokens from the attacking player in the city area are
destroyed.

If I understand this, first there is a conflict of tokens within a space. If after that conflict there are at least 7 tokens then the city is replaced by 6 tokens and the attack is "successful": the conflict with the 6 tokens from the defender and 7+ attacker tokens is resolved. The attacker would be rewarded a card even if there are 6 defending tokens after combat or the city could be rebuilt with Architecture.

Advanced military would only be beneficial to defending a city (preventing loss of a card) if there were already tokens on the city space so as to cause token conflict before city conflict. This might reduce the number of attacking tokens below 7 thereby causing the city attack to fail.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flo de Haan
Netherlands
Heerhugowaard
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PBrudz wrote:
I assume that in order to receive a card when attacking a city the city must cease to exist. Please see the example below of a defender with advanced military.

Attackers has at least 7 tokens attacking a city.
Defender removes his city and replaces it with 6 tokens.
Combat happens as normal with the defender being able to take casualties from surrounding areas.

If the defender ends combat with 6 tokens on the city cite they are replaced by the original city and the attacker is not rewarded with a card.

If the defender ends with less than 6 tokens the attacker is rewarded with a card.

The city site with 3-5 tokens could still be rebuilt that turn if they used architecture but they would still have to give up a card as in the previous sentence.

Is this accurate?


Hello Paul.
In fact, only in the case when the city attack is successful (the city is destroyed), the attacker may choose to draw a trade card at random form the defending player's hand.

regardless of how many tokens it is replaced by
regardless of the defender building the city again in a later stage.

Whenever the attack is unsuccesful (the city is not destroyed) no card is drawn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PBrudz wrote:
I assume that in order to receive a card when attacking a city the city must cease to exist. Please see the example below of a defender with advanced military.

Basically, the city is "destroyed" and the attack is successful the moment the city token is removed from the board. For the purposes of the attacker getting to draw a card, the outcome of the ensuing battle between the tokens doesn't matter.

The city building phase follows combat, so if the defender uses Advanced Military to keep enough units in the area - or if they use Architecture to make up the difference - the city can be rebuilt right away. But it still counts as having been destroyed and then rebuilt.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flo de Haan
Netherlands
Heerhugowaard
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hooliganj wrote:
PBrudz wrote:
I assume that in order to receive a card when attacking a city the city must cease to exist. Please see the example below of a defender with advanced military.

Basically, the city is "destroyed" and the attack is successful the moment the city token is removed from the board. For the purposes of the attacker getting to draw a card, the outcome of the ensuing battle between the tokens doesn't matter.

The city building phase follows combat, so if the defender uses Advanced Military to keep enough units in the area - or if they use Architecture to make up the difference - the city can be rebuilt right away. But it still counts as having been destroyed and then rebuilt.


Exactly
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.