Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Gaia Project» Forums » General

Subject: Seeking a FAQ for Federation Formation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Franklin
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Hello,

We have the game down, even the advanced technologies/flipping tokens from 4/5, but we always get hung up on some minute aspect of federation formation.

I checked the files and could not find one, but is there a FAQ for this process, the scoring tokens related to it, what is closest, can you avoid a planet that is immediately adjacent to one that is connected, using the fewest satellites vs. . . . etc.

Thanks so much for any help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Just read this...
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1906761/forming-federation
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Thunkd
United States
Florence
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JamesWolfpacker wrote:
Seven pages of back and forth where you have to piece together how to understand the rules across multiple people's posts? Ugh. Maybe if someone took all the information and edited it down to a final form, but otherwise that's a painful way to get to the answer.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
It does that after a few pages, but the read is entertaining enough to start from the beginning.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Franklin
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
After 7 pages, the final entry disagrees with a previous one. That does not sound like a unified resolution to federation formation questions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bokken B
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mb
I did a shorter version of this in that thread James linked: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/29441522#29441522

But, I'll try to make a better version here, much more FAQ like:




First follow these steps when forming a federation. I like to call them the "three rules".


Rule 1: Choose. First pick out the planets you wish to join into a federation, they must total in power value of at least 7.

Rule 2: Link. Next, place satellites (usually by discarding power) to link the chosen planets together using the least amount of satellites possible. No planet NOR satellite of the newly formed federation can be directly adjacent to planets OR satellites from any of your existing federations.

Rule 3: Validate. Finally, re-evaluate your federation, If the federation would be valid with at least one fewer planet AND one fewer satellite, you must reform your federation.



FAQ portion:

First Rule Questions:

Q: Must I choose the closest planets to form my federation?
A: No, you may chose any planets you like.
Note: The planets chosen will require that you have the satellites to link them and that they do not violate the third rule.

Q: My chosen planets total up to more than 7, is this ok?
A: Yes, Your chosen planets can total up to any number as long as the total power is 7 or greater (or 6 with the PI of Xenos).
Note: With the exception of Ivits and single planet clusters; It is impossible to create a single federation that totals up to more than 12 without breaking the third rule.

Q: Can I choose a single cluster that does not require satellites if it totals to 7 or more?
A: yes, a Federation "record token" will be placed on the cluster to indicate that it has formed it's own federation.

Q: Does the lost planet count towards a federation?
A: Yes. the lost planet is considered to be equal to a mine, and Is both a planet (or part of a planet cluster) and has a value of one point for the purposes of forming a federation.


Second rule Questions:

Q: The path with the fewest satellites to link my chosen planets will touch a planet that I did not wish to include in my federation, can I choose the shortest path that skips this planet?
A: No, If the "extra" planet cluster is not already a part of a federation, then you must choose the path with the fewest satellites to link your planets, even if it includes extra planets, this is typically where the third rule can come into play making that federation invalid.

Q: While choosing the path with the fewest satellites to link my chosen planets, I notice that I can use fewer satellites by using a planet cluster I did not choose to be a part of my federation as a "hop" to cut out 1 or more satellites, Must I use this path?
A: Yes. The path with the fewest satellites MUST be used even if it is achieved by using a planet cluster as a hop to avoid using more satellites.

Q: The path with the fewest satellites to link my chosen planets will touch a planet/satellite that is already a part of an existing federation, can I choose the path with the fewest satellites that skips this planet/satellite?
A: Yes. You MUST choose the path with the fewest satellites that does not force a satellite to come into direct adjacency with an existing federation.

Q: The path with the fewest satellites to link my planets has multiple options/paths, each have exactly the same number of satellites, is this ok?
A: Yes. During the second rule, You may choose any of the paths available, so long as they are all tied for the fewest satellites.
Note: The third rule may invalidate some or all of these paths.

Q: The path with the fewest satellites to link my planets has more than one option, but one of them includes another planet or planet cluster, Do I have to choose the shortest path that does not include other planets?
A: No, either path is valid for the second rule.

Q: Can multiple players place satellites on the same space?
A: Yes, Every open space hex may contain one satellite from each race.

Q: May satellites be placed on spaces with a Space station?
A: yes, and space stations may be placed on spaces with other satellites.


Third Rule Questions:


Q: Why does rule three specify the "one Fewer Planet cluster." wouldn't the rule be the simpler to say "if you can remove one satellite?"
A: Not exactly. If you are checking if removing just a satellite would still work, that would mean you did rule 2 incorrectly. The rules are not meant to validate each other, they are each independent rules.

Q: I have 3 planet clusters, 2 clusters of value 5, and a single mine in-between them. The shortest path to link the 2 clusters of 5 included the mine, Do I need to reform?
A: No. if the second rule was followed correctly, removing any satellite would remove one of the 5 pt planet clusters, resulting in a federation of value 6, which is not a valid federation, therefore the third rule has been followed, you have a valid federation.

Q: If I can remove a satellite and a planet cluster and still have a valid federation, can I simply use that new configuration, or adjust my satellites a bit?
A: No. You must reform your federation with a new selection of planets (or the same planets with a new choice of "shortest path" in rule 2) starting over at rule 1. This is due to the possibility of bypassing a rule by trying to adjust at rule 3.

Q: If I were to move a satellite to a different location, it would remove a planet cluster, must I reform?
A: Satellites are NEVER moved or adjusted in rule three. The shortest path is determined (and sometimes chosen when multiple paths are available) in rule 2. Rule three will only check validation by seeing if a satellite can be removed and still have a valid federation.


Non "three rules" federation questions:

Q: Why are the rules so complex? Why can't we simplify them to [insert suggestion here]
A: The short answer is that they are this way to avoid undesirable game-play with 2 of the final scoring tiles. The longer answer is that the intent was to allow for a lot of agency when forming a federation, while encouraging players to form federations with fewer satellites and fewer planets, all while still competing for the most satellites and most structures in federations final scoring. There are many niche situations that come up that will break the game and make final scoring significantly easier for some races if these rules were not in place in the format that they are. There are also other concerns such as rules that apply to the placement of the lost planet. Although, the original printed rules could have done a better job at clarity.

Q: Can I select the same federation token that I chose in a previous federation?
A: yes, you may select from among any of the remaining available federation tokens, regardless of which tokens you've selected previously.

Q: What happens if I link my federations by building on a planet that is adjacent to both?
A: As long as all federations were already formed before the linking planet was colonized, nothing happens. Any new colonized planets that are adjacent to existing federations, become part of the existing federation and are not eligible to be used in forming a new federation.

Q: Can I use power tokens in the gaia bowl in order to form federations?
A: No, tokens MUST be taken from one of the three main power bowls when forming a federation

Q: Do all of the power tokens I discard in order to create the satellites for my federation have to come from the same power bowl?
A: No, Power tokens may be discarded from any combination of the three main power bowls.

Q: I have some power tokens in power bowl 3, may I spend that power on "free actions" into power bowl 1 before forming a federation?
A: Yes.

Q: I have Nevlas with the PI. When I discard my tokens from bowl three, do they create 2 satellites?
A: No. A power token will only create one satellite, regardless of it's value.

Q: I have Taklons, Can I discard the Brain Cube in order to obtain a satellite?
A: Yes. The brain cube can be discarded in order to create a single satellite, it cannot be recovered.

Q: I have Ivits, If I create a federation at 7 points, and then upgrade buildings until the same planet cluster reaches 14, may I create a new federation with the same cluster?
A: Yes. The Ivits racial ability allows a new federation to be formed every time their initial federation reaches a new threshold of 7 (such as 14, 21, 28, 35). A federation Record Token will be placed down to indicate each federation formed, including the first.

Q: for the purposes of the round scoring tile (5 points per federation) or either of the advanced tech tiles that score points per federation tokens. Does the Gleens PI federation token or the federation token at the top of the terraforming track count towards the bonus points?
A: Yes.

Q: I'm playing Ambas. After forming a federation with my PI, I used my PI ability to move my PI to a new location. My previously formed federation is now only 4 points. Do I lose my federation token?
A: No. Any federation, once formed, cannot be lost. This also includes when the standard tech tile making large buildings worth 4 points is covered by an advanced tech tile.

Q: I'm Playing Ivits. My federation cluster is worth 14 points and I've formed 2 federations. I've just built an advanced tech tile which has covered my standard tech tile that makes large buildings worth 4 points. My new federation cluster value is 13. Will I be able to form a new Federation once my federation cluster hits 14 again?
A: No (but nice try!) Once you form one of your federations as Ivits, you will not be able to form a new federation until you reach the next threshold, regardless of the current value of your federation cluster dropping below a threshold. Since you have 2 on board federations, the next threshold (third on-board federation) will be 21 points.





Edit: 12/20, edited sentences for grammar and clarity.
23 
 Thumb up
2.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Linda Chov
China
BEIJING
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The work you put in on this forum Bokken, is incredible. Thank you.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bastian Winkelhaus
Germany
Mainz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
trevorandlinda wrote:
The work you put in on this forum Bokken, is incredible. Thank you.


Agreed, thank you and well done.
Consider this FAQ official, it sums up all the rules correctly.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Helge Ostertag
Germany
Hofheim
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zlorfik wrote:
trevorandlinda wrote:
The work you put in on this forum Bokken, is incredible. Thank you.


Agreed, thank you and well done.
Consider this FAQ official, it sums up all the rules correctly.


I second this. Well done Bokken, thanks!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bokken B
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mb
Horologiom wrote:
zlorfik wrote:
trevorandlinda wrote:
The work you put in on this forum Bokken, is incredible. Thank you.


Agreed, thank you and well done.
Consider this FAQ official, it sums up all the rules correctly.


I second this. Well done Bokken, thanks!


Wow, I'm humbled. huge compliments, Thank you all.

I'm glad that I'm having a positive effect on making entry to the game better/more accessible!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bokken B
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mb
zlorfik wrote:
trevorandlinda wrote:
The work you put in on this forum Bokken, is incredible. Thank you.


Agreed, thank you and well done.
Consider this FAQ official, it sums up all the rules correctly.


Maybe we get a sticky on the top of the rules forum? I'm not sure how we would go about that, but I think it would help. especially since this is in the general forums.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
BGG can create a wiki type official FAQ for any game it has a page for.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bokken B
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
mb
Created a Wiki Page:

https://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Federation_FAQ

The formatting is all different, and the line spacing is a bit of an issue.. but Maybe I'll try to make a few more. I'll also look for a sticky as well, I think that well help alot of the questions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.