Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicholas Gauthier
United States
Thompsonville
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a degree in biology. In particular, I recall learning about tree growth and ecological succession. There are several things absent from this game.

First, certain gymnosperms (pine tress) are shade-intolerant, which means that they don't grow well in the shade, but they grow faster than other trees in sunlight. Certain angiosperms (like oaks and maples) grow slower than other trees, but they are shade-tolerant, which means they can grow pretty well in shade.

As a grassy field turns into mature forest, the pines will dominate early on (growing faster than the oaks and maples), at least until they reach the point of casting shade on their own offspring (saplings). Then, in the shade, the slow-but-sure-growing angiosperms will dominate and replace the gymnosperms as the dominant species.

This is called a climax community, and it will stay intact until disturbance (forest fire, logging, etc).

None of the finer points of ecological succession or the differences between tree types made it into the game. For this reason, I'm going to pass on this one.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicolau Tudela
Portugal
Porto
Porto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Though I appreciate the info on the growth of trees and the ecological (in)balances that goes between them, this is at its core an abstract game and there's no abstraction that fully replicates the intricacies of the real world.

That said you might want to check out this variant which gives some asymmetry to the gameplay.

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1944803/unique-species-game...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian S.
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
01010011 01001000 01000001 01001100 01001100 00100000 01010111 01000101 00100000 01010000 01001100 01000001 01011001 00100000 01000001 00100000 01000111 01000001 01001101 01000101 00111111
mbmbmbmbmb